Tyrrell elections board takes office

Published 9:17 am Wednesday, April 4, 2018

The newly appointed four-member Tyrrell County Board of Elections took office at 11 a.m., April 2, succeeding the three-member board that existed for decades.

The two Republican members taking the oath are Deborah Huth and Dennis “Buddy” W. Swain, Jr. The two Democrats are G. Cecil Lilley and Inetta L. Knight.

The board elected Lilley as chairman, Swain as vice chairman, and Huth as secretary.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Bipartisan State Board of Elections & Ethics Enforcement on March 27 appointed four members – two Democrats and two Republicans – to each of the 100 county boards of elections. The names were chosen from lists provided by the state political parties, according to Patrick Gannon, state board public information officer. These county board members will serve until at least June 25, 2019, or until their successors are sworn in.