Ocracoke will welcome visitors back Friday

Published 8:22 am Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The Hyde County Board of Commissioners has lifted restrictions on non-resident property owners visitors to Ocracoke Island effective Tuesday, and visitors to the island effective Friday.

As of Tuesday, the Swan Quarter Ferry Terminal is still the only access point onto the island. There is still no time table on when the Hatteras and Cedar Island Terminals will be operational.

The following reentry passes and vendors will be allowed to board the ferry in the following priority and will be strictly enforced:

Get the latest headlines sent to you

1. Red Passes– Emergency Personnel
2. Yellow Passes – Essential Island Personnel
3. Vendors – See below for vendor priority listings 4. Green Passes – Permanent Residents
5. White Passes – Non-Resident Property Owners

Vendor Priority List:

1 – Emergency Personnel and Equipment
2 – NCDOT Highway and Power Company Personnel and Equipment 3 – Sanitation Personnel and Equipment
4 – Mail and Parcel Delivery
5 – Commodities and Fuel Vendors

If you are not one of the above pass holders or a vendor, do not attempt to gain entry to the island. Entry is first come first served. However, you will be bumped in line by anyone with a priority pass higher than yours. Ferry reservations will resume on Friday, Sept. 21.

The ferry schedule for the Swan Quarter – Ocracoke route for Tuesday, Sept. 18 will be as follows:

Swan Quarter Departures – 7:30 am, 9:30 am, 10:30 am, 3:30 pm, and 4:30 pm Ocracoke Departures – 7:30 am, 12:30 pm, 1:30 pm, 4:30 pm, and 6:30 pm

Route schedules for after Tuesday have not been determined yet. If you have any questions or need assistance, call the Hyde County Emergency Operations Center at 252-926-3715.