Burn ban lifted

Published 7:56 am Tuesday, June 11, 2019

The burn ban was lifted at 5 p.m., Monday, June 10 for Dare, Hyde and Tyrrell and 15 other eastern North Carolina counties.

The ban went into effect on May 30 due to extremely dry conditions in the area.

Burn permits are now available in those counties once again, however caution is strongly encouraged with any open burning as careless debris burns are the leading cause of wildfires in North Carolina.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Dare County and the Cape Hatteras National Seashore also lifted burn bans effective at 5 p.m., Monday, June 10.

Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler said that, even with the ban, the state’s Forest Service responded to 53 wildfires covering 342 acres in the ban area.

The online burn permit system is open again statewide. All burn permits previously granted within the 18 burn ban counties were cancelled when the ban was implemented so new permit applications must be submitted.

Beach fires at the Cape Hatteras National Seashore require a free beach fire permit. To learn more about the permit, go to nps.gov/caha under plan your visit. Seashore visitor centers and campgrounds have copies of the beach fire permit.



Burn ban issued for Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell and 15 other counties