Boger, Liverman and Willis enter Tyrrell races

Published 3:00 am Friday, December 13, 2019

Gene Parisher Boger, Democrat, filed Dec. 2 for re-election as Tyrrell County’s register of deeds.

She has held the office since July 1, 2014 and was assistant register of deeds for 12 years before that.

Darryl Liverman, who was sheriff for 18 years before retiring in 2018, filed Dec. 3 on the Democratic ticket for a seat on the Board of Commissioners.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Carl Willis, Democrat, filed for another term on the Board of Commissioners. He was re-elected vice chairman of that board last week and he served as chairman of the school board for several years and was a Columbia alderman at one time.

The terms of county commissioners Tommy Everett, Lawrence Swain and Willis end in 2020. Other commissioners, whose terms expire in 2022, are Jordan Davis and Nina Griswell. All are Democrats except Davis, a Republican. All seats are at-large.

Board of Education members Lee Scripture and Janie Spencer are nearing the end of their terms. The non-partisan school board election will be held Mar. 3 and winners will take office in July. Other members, whose terms end in 2022, are Carlos Armstrong, Karen Clough and Robin Dunbar.

The filing period for candidates seeking election to Tyrrell County offices ends at noon Dec. 20.

The Tyrrell elections office in the courthouse in Columbia is open from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday. Candidates must file papers and pay the fee there to Emily Kirkman Hodges, county elections director.

A candidate must be a registered voter in Tyrrell County in order to file for a local office.

Beginning in 2020, North Carolina voters will be asked to provide photo identification when voting in person or absentee-by-mail, with some exceptions.

Voters may provide any type of acceptable photo identification. More than 130 types of ID will be accepted. For a list of acceptable IDs, see