Hyde County candidates seeking election

Published 9:29 am Saturday, January 18, 2020

Hyde County candidates filing for 2020 elections are as follows:

County Commissioner – Fairfield Township. Republican Benjamin C. Simmons III, from Fairfield, is the incumbent. He is unopposed in the primary.

County Commissioner – Lake Landing Township. Incumbent Republican Earl D. Pugh Jr., from Engelhard, signed up to run again. He is unopposed in the Republican primary.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Three Democrats, all from Engelhard, filed to run in the primary for the Lake Landing seat: Thomas Midgette, Barbara Gibbs and Marsha Gibbs.

County Commissioner – Ocracoke Township. Randal G. Matthews, a Democrat, filed to run for the Ocracoke seat.

Board of Education At-Large (two seats). Both incumbent Democrats Thomas Whitaker from Fairfield and Randy Etheridge from Engelhard filed to run for the at-large seats. No one else filed for the seats.

Three sanitary districts, each had two seats open but only one person filing:

Engelhard Sanitary District (two seats): Jo Ann Spencer

Ocracoke Sanitary District (two seats): Scott Bradley, an incumbent, filed.

Swan Quarter Sanitary District (two seats): Wayne Hodges.

Two write-in slots will appear on the ballot for the sanitary districts.



Southern Shores Council gets updates on street projects, fire facility and new library

COA agribusiness instructor participates in USAID Farmer-to-Farmer program