Meetings about unincorporated Dare flood maps set

Published 10:13 am Friday, January 31, 2020

The Dare County Planning Board will hold two informational meetings about the updated flood maps for Dare County that will become effective June 19.

Many properties have been reclassified on the new flood maps, in many instances at a lower risk flood zone.

At the meeting, planning director Donna Creef will provide an overview of the updated maps, discuss concerns associated with them and explain proposed regulations for development in unincorporated Dare County that are being considered.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The first meeting will be held on Monday, Feb. 10 at 5 p.m. at the Dare County Board of Commissioners Meeting Room located at 954 Marshall Collins Drive in Manteo. The second meeting will be held at 5 p.m. on Thursday Feb. 13 at the Fessenden Center located at 46830 NC 12 Highway in Buxton.

For more information regarding the new maps and to view the flood maps update presentation provided to the Board of Commissioners at the Jan. 6 meeting, visit



Dare County Tourism Board elects officers

Nags Head Planning Board discusses alcohol sales, kiosks and event home guidelines