Hyde County candidates seeking election in November

Published 4:08 pm Monday, March 16, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In Hyde County, the Lake Landing Township Board of Commissioners seat drew three candidates to the Democratic party primary.

Thomas Midgette won the primary with an unofficial ballot count of 357, representing 46.61% of the votes. Second was Marsha Gibbs with 326 votes, or 42.56%, and third was Barbara Gibbs with 83 votes, or 10.84%. All three candidates are from Engelhard.

Midgette won Engelhard, Sladesville and Lake Landing precincts, while Marsha Gibbs carried Ocracoke, Burgess Mill, Swan Quarter and Fairfield.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In the General Election, Midgette will face Republican Earl D. Pugh Jr. from Engelhard. Pugh had no opposition in the primary.

For the county commissioner seat from the Fairfield Township, Republican Benjamin C. Simmons III from Fairfield is the incumbent. He was unopposed in the primary and has no opponent in November’s General Election.

For Ocracoke, Randal G. Matthews, a Democrat, filed to run for the seat on the Board of Commissioners. He was unopposed in the primary and does not face opposition in the General Election.

Also appearing on the General Election ballot are:

Board of Education At-Large (2 seats). Both incumbent Democrats Thomas Whitaker from Fairfield and Randy Etheridge from Engelhard filed for the open seats and faced no opposition in the primary. No Republican opponents signed up for the two seats.

Also appearing on the General Election ballot are openings in three sanitary districts. Each has two seats open but only one person in each district filed:

Engelhard Sanitary District (2 seats): Jo Ann Spencer

Ocracoke Sanitary District (2 seats): Scott Bradley, an incumbent filed.

Swan Quarter Sanitary District (2 seats): Wayne Hodges.

Write-in slots will appear on the ballot.



Southern Shores partners with Duck for beach nourishment RFQ