Ocracoke entry restrictions updated; non-resident property owners must be working on critical repairs

Published 4:06 pm Monday, March 23, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Monday, March 23, the Hyde County Board of Commissioners amended the state of emergency order restricting access to Ocracoke.

According to a press release from Hyde County, to limit the spread of COVID-19 as much as possible while still allowing for rebuilding efforts to continue, non-resident property owners who are not actively working on critical repairs of their homes or businesses are no longer being permitted entry to Ocracoke. Contractors working on Ocracoke properties will still be permitted access. Those who are able to delay work on their property are asked to do so.

Moving forward, workers and non-resident property owners will need to submit an online application to be issued a temporary permit to access the island. Non-resident property owners who are not actively working on rebuilding efforts will be denied a permit. Those who meet the above criteria may fill out an application at http://www.hydecountync.gov/ocracoke-covid. Updated information on Ocracoke entry throughout the COVID-19 crisis may also be found on that web page.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Ocracoke entry will be restricted to the following priorities:


– Hyde County/state requested resources

– Hyde County emergency personnel

– Medical/clinic

– National Park Service

– Hyde County employees

– Hyde County School System employees/staff

– Code enforcement officers/inspectors

– Department of Transportation

– Power company

– Hyde County debris removal contractors or subcontractors

– Hyde County debris monitoring contractor

– Sanitation/garbage disposal

– Mail and parcel delivery


– Insurance adjusters

– Contractors

– Distributors/suppliers/vendors

– Volunteers


– Ocracoke residents

– Ocracoke business owners and employees

– Ocracoke temporary entry certificate holders

All contractors, insurance adjusters and state missions will be validated by Hyde County and a temporary pass will be issued. A list of passes issued will be provided to NCDOT Ferry Division on a continual basis.

Individuals seeking entry must have the appropriate Hyde County issued re-entry tag or a valid North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Ferry Division issued priority pass. Expired Hyde County re-entry tags will be honored as an acceptable means of establishing priority for this event. The Hyde County re-entry tag colors now allowed access are:

  1. Emergency personnel (Red)
  2. Infrastructure (Yellow)
  3. Resident (Green)

If a commuter fails to produce the aforementioned credentials, they will be required to show evidence of residency in Hyde County or hold a temporary re-entry pass issued by Hyde County.



Outer Banks Relief Foundation: Lifting up the vulnerable

Outer Banks couple lights up the night to spread message of hope amid pandemic