Visitor entry restrictions for Dare, Hyde and Currituck counties to be lifted beginning May 16

Published 1:45 pm Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Dare County announced in a Wednesday press release that it, in coordination with Hyde and Currituck counties, will lift restrictions on entry for visitors beginning Saturday, May 16 at 12:01 a.m. “This decision follows the announcement by Governor Roy Cooper on May 5 to issue Executive Order 138 which will modify North Carolina’s Stay at Home order and transition to Phase 1 of slowly easing certain COVID-19 restrictions. ,” stated the release.

Dare County Board of Commissioners Chairman Bob Woodard is shown in the below video making the announcement:

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Entry for visitors on Saturday, May 16 at 12:01 a.m. includes the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo; Hatteras Island; Roanoke Island; the Dare mainland; the Currituck County Outer Banks; and Ocracoke Island. 

“Allowing visitors on May 16 will allow seven days for local businesses, attractions, and accommodations providers to prepare for the arrival of visitors following the new business operating requirements put in place by the Governor’s Executive Order 138,” stated the release. “Before traveling to the Outer Banks, visitors are encouraged to contact their accommodations provider to confirm their reservation and arrival plans.” 

State and local restrictions related to COVID-19 are still in effect, including: 

– Social distancing guidelines are still in place.

– Gatherings are limited to 10 people or less.

– Getting food from restaurants continues to be on a take-out or delivery basis.

– Businesses, including grocery stores, have limits on the number of people allowed in the store at any given time based on square footage.

– Personal care and grooming businesses and entertainment businesses without retail or dining are not open yet based on state regulations which are not determined or controlled by our local government. 

The CDC recommends not to travel if you are sick or were recently exposed (within 14 days) to COVID-19. 

“Additionally, individuals are encouraged to wear a mask or cloth face covering in public settings where other social distancing measures are difficult to maintain,” continued the release, which also stated that, if possible, visitors should bring essentials with them, including paper and sanitizing products and non-perishable groceries. 

Updated information about entry to Dare County, including frequently asked questions, is available on the Dare County website at Information and resources related to the coronavirus can be found at

For information regarding entry to Ocracoke Island, visit and for Hyde County information and resources related to the coronavirus visit  

For updated information regarding the Currituck Outer Banks, visit

For FAQs regarding the Governor’s Executive Order No. 138 that moves North Carolina into “Phase 1” of easing certain COVID-19 restrictions, visit



Five northeast NC counties come together to celebrate ‘Spirit of Travel’

National Park Service’s Outer Banks Group wins Charles S. Marshall Unit Award