Manteo High School’s Madison Flynn wins regional meet, earns all-state honors

Published 6:41 am Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Manteo High School sophomore Madison Flynn captured first place and her younger sister MacKenzie finished third in the October 30 NCHSAA 2A Regional cross country meet, helping pace the Manteo girls to a fifth place team finish.

Madison Flynn’s winning time of 18:58 over the 5,000 meter course at Deep Run was more than a minute faster than second place finisher Keeley Williams, a Camden County senior. The younger Flynn’s third place time was 20:36.18 and both Redskin runners qualified for the November 6 State Championships.

Back in the pack of 51 runners, Manteo’s Haley Heard was 23rd with a time of 22:45.24, Juliette Scott finished 43rd with a time of 25:50.67 and Paige Reibel was 48th at 28:56.24.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Camden County was first overall in the region with 42 points, East Duplin second with 86, Southwest Onslow third place with 90, South Lenoir finished fourth with 96, Manteo’s fifth place score was 97 points, Washington was sixth with 112 and Princeton was the seventh place team with 137 points.

Also qualifying for the boys state finals with his 19th place time of 18:53.95 was Manteo Senior Zain Bhula. Jay Bass (Goldsboro) was the overall boys winner with a time of 16:45.97.

Also finishing the race for the Manteo boys team was Ezekiel Leary in 20th with a time of 18:55.60, Samuel Head in 24th at 19:34.10, Grayson Lewis in 34th at 20:15.92 and Robert Head in 62nd with a time of 23:40.65.

Place finish and team scores for boys teams included: 1. South Lenoir 45; 2. Washington 103; 3. Southwest Onslow 114; 4. East Carteret 121; 5. Camden County 135; 6. Farmville Central 137; 7. Manteo 142; 8. Goldsboro 172; 9. Spring Creek 204; and 10. North Lenoir 222.

At the November 6 state finals at a hilly Ivey Redmon Sports Complex course in Kernersville, Madison Flynn finished 10th with a time of 20:12.44 and MacKenzie Flynn was 47th with a time of 22:15.95. Lucy Murray (Brevard) was first overall with a time of 19:26.50 and NC School of Science & Math took the team championship.

Madison’s finish among the top 10 earned her All-State honors.

In boys competition, Brevard senior Knox Witherspoon was first across the finish line clocked at 16:17.70. Manteo’s Zain Bhula was 117th in a field of 136 finishers with a time of 20:51.60. Brevard boys were team champions.

“I am so proud of all our cross country athletes this year,” said Manteo High School cross country Head Coach Emily DiNoto. “And especially proud of Madison and her work ethic that propelled her into the top ranking in the 2A states.”

In the October 30 NCHSAA 3A East Regional competition at Jacksonville, Croatan High School took the team champion honors for both boys and girls. Overall First Flight boys were third and Currituck County seventh with First Flight’s Warner Campbell the top area finisher in second place with a time of 15:49.99.

For girls, Currituck’s Kylee Dinterman was the top area finisher with a time of 19:32.36. Her sixth place finish helped pace the Currituck Knights to third overall, First Flight girls finished sixth in the region.

In the November 6 3A state competition at Kernersville, Currituck County girls finished 10th out of the 18 scoring teams there and First Flight boys finished 13th among 21 teams. North Lincoln took team honors for both boys and girls.

Currituck girls state meet finishers included Kylee Dinterman in 13th place with a time of 19:54.55, Serenity Doran 62nd at 21:54.81, Jasmine Gorney 67th at 22:06.99, Ashley Reinke 114th at 23:21.91, Emma Barefield 140th at 25:18.29, Hannah Mason 142nd at 25:51.49 and Alexis Davis 146th with a time of 26:43.29

First place individual honors for girls went to Croatan’s Navaya Zales with a time of 18:12.97.

State 3A results for First Flight boys included: Warner Campbell (15th) 16:37.74; Jackson Hannon (54th) 17:44.58; Devon Coughlin (75th) 17:59.66; Chase Matis (118th) 18:51.93; Joseph Wagner (143rd) 19:30.09; James Dudek (148th) 19:39.22; and Liam Minnich 9157th) 20:05.15

Zachary Willer (Stuart W. Cramer) was the individual champion with a time of 15:42.61 and Gavin Jessup, the lone Currituck County male runner, was 66th with a time of 17:53.65.