Dare election lineup features two with unaffiliated petitions running for school board

Published 3:54 pm Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Only one primary contest will be waged for Dare County local offices on May 17, 2022.

In the November general election, two to four contested elections may be held.

The one contested party nomination is the at-large commissioner seat currently held by Ervin Bateman.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In the Republican primary Bateman from Kitty Hawk faces Mike Burrus from Wanchese.

In the general election, the winner of the Bateman-Burrus race will face Heather Euler, a Democrat from Buxton.

Another general election contest applies to the Register of Deeds office.

Republican Cheryl House from Southern Shores has signed up to run for another term as Register of Deeds. She is opposed by Democrat Andrian “Sweet Pea” Tillett from Manteo.

Three incumbents on the Dare County Board of Education are not running for re-election: Frank Hester from District 1, Joe Tauber from District 2 and Margaret Lawler from District 3.

For District 1 on the school board, Republican Barry Wickre from Manteo is currently the only candidate. The district represents Dare’s mainland and Roanoke Island.

For District 2, Republican Ron Payne is registered as a candidate. Jessica Fearns has submitted a petition request to run as an unaffiliated candidate and is now collecting signatures. The district represents Kill Devil Hills, Colington and Nags Head.

For District 3, Republican Matt Brauer from Southern Shores is seeking the seat. Marie Russell, who lives in Kitty Hawk, has submitted a petition request to run as an unaffiliated candidate. The district represents Duck, Southern Shores and Kitty Hawk. Russell is collecting signatures.

Both Fearns and Russell announced their candidacies at the March 8, 2022, Board of Education meeting.

As of March 7, 2022, the following candidates are unopposed in the general election:

Dean Martin Tolson, incumbent Republican for Clerk of Superior Court.

J.D. (Doug) Doughtie, incumbent Republican for Sheriff.

Jim Tobin, incumbent Republican, Board of Commissioners, District 1.

Rob Ross, incumbent Republican, Board of Commissioners, District 2.