Guidelines published for student advisors to the Dare Board of Education

Published 8:23 am Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dare County Board of Education is inviting rising seniors to apply to become student advisors to the board.

To be eligible to apply, applicants must be a rising senior and regularly attend high school in Dare County. Student advisors must currently have and maintain a cumulative 3.0 grade point during the tenure of the position, states a media release.

The application process requires students to share their leadership experience, answer personal essay questions and provide two staff member recommendation letters.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Students interested in the role can review the extensive position guidelines and apply online through the Dare County Schools website, Applications are due July 28, 2023.

The applicant’s parent or legal guardian must sign the application.

The guidelines state: “A board committee will interview selected applicants and discuss their qualifications. The board will then vote in open session to select the student board member.

“Students chosen by the Board of Education as advisors will participate in “new student advisor training sessions” with the Director of Secondary Education prior to their first Board Meeting …”

One student from Cape Hatteras Secondary School, from First Flight High School and from Manteo High School will be chosen to serve and will be sworn in Monday, Sept. 18 at the second meeting of the 2023-24 school year.

Relatives of school board members are not eligible to apply.

“We are thrilled to be able to offer our high school seniors this leadership opportunity. Student advisors will provide input to the Dare County Board of Education on decisions that affect the learning of every student in Dare County Schools, pre-K through 12th grade. Think about that; students actively involved in their own learning. That’s the way education should be,” said Steve Basnight, superintendent of Dare County Schools.