Candidates file for municipal offices in Dare, Tyrrell

Published 6:50 pm Friday, July 21, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Candidates have filed for 2023 municipal elections, which will be held November 7, 2023.

The deadline for filing was noon on Friday, July 21, 2023.

The names listed are those that will appear on ballots.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The candidate list for Dare County as of July 21, 2023 at 12:35 p.m. is as follows:

Duck Councilman: Five seats. Incumbents Don Kingston, Monica Thibodeau, Sandy Whitman and Rob Mooney, as well as Bren Chasen and Kevin Lingard.

Kill Devil Hills Mayor: Incumbent Ben Sproul, as well as John Windley have filed.

Kill Devil Hills Commissioner: Two seats. Incumbents Ivy Ingram and Bernard B. (B.J.) McAvoy Jr., as well as Michael Denny have filed.

Kitty Hawk Councilman: Two seats. Incumbent David Hines, as well as Dylan L. Tillett and Ron Tumolo have filed.

Manteo Mayor: Incumbent Bobby Owens, as well as Sherry Butcher Wickstrom have filed.

Manteo Commissioner: Three seats. Incumbents Tod Clissold, Darrell M. Collins and Betty Govan Selby, as well as Michele Estelle Lewis, Hannah McOwen Forslund and Jason Borland have filed.

Nags Head: Commissioner: Two seats. Incumbent Kevin Brinkley, as well as Megan Lambert, Keith Sawyer and T. Mike Morrison have filed.

Southern Shores: Councilman: Three seats. Incumbents Matthew Neal and Mark Batenic, as well as Robert E. Neilson and Mike Guarracino have filed.

In the Town of Columbia, in Tyrrell County, two incumbents have filed to be re-elected as aldermen, Sandra Owens and Lloyd G. Armstrong.

EDITOR’S NOTE: The first publication of this article failed to indicate that Sandy Whitman and Rob Mooney are incumbents in the Duck race.