Primary candidates for 2024 election

Published 11:35 am Wednesday, December 20, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Candidate filing in the 2024 elections closed at noon on Friday, Dec. 15, 2023. Unaffiliated candidates must file petitions by noon, March 5, 2024, the date of statewide primary elections.

This is a list of Republican, Libertarian and Democrat candidates who have signed up to run for various offices in four northeastern counties: Currituck, Dare, Hyde and Tyrrell counties. The list is as of noon on Dec. 15, 2023.

U.S. House, District 1:

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Sandy Smith, Rocky Mount, Republican

Laurie Buckhout, Edenton, Republican

Tom Bailey, Greensboro, Libertarian

U.S. House, District 3:

Greg Murphy, Greenville, Republican

Gheorghe Cormos, Tryon, Libertarian

State Offices:

NC Senate District 1:

Bobby Hanig, Powells Point, Republican

Susan Harman-Scott, Nags Head, Democrat

NC Senate District 2:

Tate (T) Davis, Littleton, Democrat

Norman W. Sanderson, Minnesott Beach, Republican

Maria Cormos, Cape Carteret, Libertarian

NC House, District 1:

Edward C. Goodwin, Edenton, Republican

Susan A. Sawin, Kitty Hawk, Democrat

NC House, District 079:

Keith Kidwell, Chocowinity, Republican

Mary Beedle, Washington, Democrat

NC Superior Court, District 2, Seat 2:

Seth Edwards, Washington, Republican

NC Superior Court, District 2, Seat 3:

Jason Williams, Washington, Democrat

Hyde County

Board of Commissioners:

Fairfield Township:

Thomas Whitaker, Fairfield, Democrat

Lake Landing Township:

James (Boo Boo) Topping, Swan Quarter, Democrat

Tommy Loftus, Engelhard, Democrat

Thomas Midgette, Engelhard, Democrat

Ocracoke Township:

Randal Mathews, Ocracoke, Democrat

Board of Education:


Chanta Gibbs-Rickard, Fairfield, Democrat

Tyrrell County

Board of Commissioners:

Robert Thompson, Columbia, Republican

Karen Rose Simmons, Columbia, Democrat

Register of Deeds: Gene Parisher, Columbia, Democrat

Board of Education:

William Sawyer Jr., Fairfield, no party affiliation listed

Mike Cole, Columbia, no party affiliation listed


Board of Commissioners:

At Large:

Paul O’Neal, Coinjock, Republican

Mike Hall, Moyock, Republican

Claywood Wilson Jr., Moyock, Democrat

District 1:

Ronda Galko, Corolla, Republican

Tony Angell, Knotts Island, Republican

District 2:

Selina S. Jarvis, Harbinger, Republican

C. Shay Ballance, Jarvisburg, Republican

District 4:

Bryan Bass, Moyock, Republican

Janet Williams Rose, Moyock, Republican

Register of Deeds:

Emily Castelow, Grandy, Republican

Natalie Roberts Twiddy, Moyock, Republican


Dare County Board of Commissioners:

District 1:

Wally Overman, Manteo, Republican

Carson Creef, Wanchese, Republican

District 1 – unexpired term of Jim Tobin:

Bea Basnight, Manteo, Republican

Mike Burrus, Wanchese, Republican

District 2:

Robert L. (Bob) Woodard Sr., Kill Devil Hills, Republican

Christian Thomas Hayman, Kill Devil Hills, Republican

Katie Morgan, Kill Devil Hills, Democrat

District 3:

Steve House, Southern Shores, Republican

Dennis Zaenger, Duck, Democrat

District 4:

Aida Havel, Salvo, Democrat

Mary Ellon D. Ballance, Hatteras, Republican

Board of Education:

At Large:

David Twiddy, Manteo, Republican

Melissa Zehner, Southern Shores, Democrat

District 1:

Justin Bateman, Wanchese, Republican

District 2:

Lisa E. Lloyd, Nags Head, Republican

Haley Carey, Nags Head, Democrat

District 4:

Kenny Brite, Avon, Republican

Heather Euler, Buxton, Democrat