FFMS wrestlers AAC champions

Published 2:57 pm Sunday, February 18, 2018

First Flight Middle School wrestlers won the Albemarle Athletic Conference tournament championship at Moyock on February 10. Scoring a total of 233 points, the Seahawks defeated Chowan in second place with 198.5 points, Moyock third with 163 points, River Road fourth with 156.5 and Elizabeth City in fifth with 128 points.

According to Head Coach Anthony Beach the First Flight team finished its regular season 12-0 with a current winning streak of 31 straight victories making it back-to-back regular season and tournament championships.

Seventh grader Reagan Riddick, wrestling at 108 pounds, was the first female conference champion, was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler in the tournament, and is the first female to ever receive that award. Earning the most tournament pins was sixth grader Kai Reece and setting school records as the first sixth graders to place first, Nathan Canning and Azrael Simpson each have undefeated records.

FIRST FLIGHT MIDDLE SCHOOL WRESTLERS finished its regular season 12-0 and won the Albemarle Athletic Conference tournament championship at Moyock on February 10 for the second year in a row. The Seahawks defeated teams from Chowan, Moyock, River Road and Elizabeth City. Members of the team include Blake Austin, head coach Anthony Beach, Noah Boddicker, Katie Braddy, Porter Braddy, Kieren Brethauer, assistant coach Kyle Briglia, Dylan Byard, Nathan Canning, Pierce Chase, Cooper Daniels, Jack Fitzgerald, Keller Foard, Blake Francis, assistant coach Shane Francis, Nick Gardill, Milosz Gargol, Lane Halfin, Caden Hedges, Dylan Hoggard, Noah Kinnisten, Damien Markovich, Mathew Mercer, Tyde Mezzacca, Reagan Riddick, Jaden Rock, Richard Rowell, Makayla Schutte, Trevor Schweitzer, Azrael Simpson, assistant coach Nick Smeltzer, Noah Smeltzer, Stephen Strader, Gage Tomlin and Gavin Wassler. (FFMS/Vanessa Riddick photo)

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Individual results for the First Flight Middle School Wrestling Team include:

85-pounds: Blake Austin, first place

92-pounds: Nathan Canning, first place; Kai Reece, fourth place

100-pounds: Azrael Simpson, first place

108-pounds: Reagan Riddick, first place

115-pounds: Blake Francis, first place

122-pounds: Damien Markovich, third place

128-pounds: Jack Fitzgerald, second place

134-pounds: Gage Tomlin, first place

140-pounds: Stephen Strader, second place; Tyde Mezzacca, fourth place

147-pounds: Cooper Daniels, first place; Pierce Chase, second place

154-pounds: Porter Braddy, third place

162-pounds: Milosz Gargol, third place

172-pounds: Trevor Schweitzer, second place

Notables include: Kieren Brethauer, Jaden Rock, Noah Kinnisten, Mathew Mercer, Richard Rowell, Caden Hedges, Noah Boddicker, Gavin Wassler, Lane Halfin, Dylan Hoggard, Nick Gardill, Katie Braddy, Keller Foard, Noah Smeltzer, Dylan Byard, and Makayla Schutte.

Coaching the Seahawks were head coach Anthony Beach, assistant coach Kyle Briglia and assistant coaches Shane Francis and Nick Smeltzer.