4-H Achievement Night, leaders recognition held

Published 5:51 pm Friday, March 2, 2018

Currituck County 4-H recently hosted its annual 4-H Achievement Night and Leaders Recognition Celebration to honor 4-H members for their outstanding accomplishments over the past year and to thank the volunteers for their hard work and commitment to Currituck’s 4-H program.

Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service were presented to:

Heather Campbell received the 4-H Club Leader of the Year Award, recognizing her outstanding leadership and service to the 4-H program. She is the leader of the SteamPunks STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Club and the RoboRapters Robotics Club.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Currituck Sharp Shooters, led by Kathy Melton, was named the 2017 4-H Club of the Year.

In addition, youth were recognized for their achievements in public speaking, project knowledge, skills and record keeping, and volunteerism.

Youth awards:

District and state public speaking presentations: Tucker Melton, Gregory Dozier, Abbigail Owens, Alexis Berg, Sammy Shawgo, Riley Newsham, Ayden Berry, Ashton Lowe, Cayden Lowe, Gabe Campbell, Elijah Campbell, Armani Rasco, Bela Williams, Billy Grant-Beasley, Alliyah Kato, Carsyn Sawyer and Jackson Surbaugh.

Project record books are records of accomplishments compiled by 4-H’ers to record concepts learned in a particular subject matter.

The best project book winners for 2017 were:

Cloverbud Superstars (5-8 years old): Bella Vaughn, Amanda Jennings, Avrie Cahoon, Hunter Zoeller, Caleb Minton, Ayden White, JeKeith Cowell and Karleigh Meads.

9-10 years old: Best Animal Science, Elijah Campbell; Best Healthy Lifestyles, Sammy Shawgo; Best Citizenship, Elijah Campbell; Best Science and Technology, Billy Grant-Beasley.

11-12 years old: Best Animal Science, Ava Crow.

13-15 years old: Best Animal Science, Shyanne McLeod; Best Citizenship, Gabriel Campbell; Best Science and Technology, Gabriel Campbell.

16-18 years old: Best Animal Science, Jordan Starcher; Best Leadership and Personal Development, Tucker Melton.

Outstanding 4-H Members of Year were selected for the overall level of excellence in their 2017 4-H program work. This year’s 4-H’ers of the year were: Elijah Campbell (9-10 year old), Cayden Lowe (11-12 year old), Gregory Dozier (13-15 year old) and Tucker Melton (16-18 year old).

Tucker Melton was also awarded his 4-H jacket for his outstanding accomplishments in the 4-H program.

The Outstanding Teen Volunteer of Year Award went to Joshua Key.