Candidates for local Dare offices listed

Published 6:08 pm Friday, March 2, 2018

In Dare County, the following filed candidacy papers for the indicated offices:

Board of Commissioners District 1, representing Dare’s mainland and Roanoke Island, incumbent Republican Jim Tobin and Democrat Rosemarie Doshier.

Board of Commissioners District 2, representing Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Colington, incumbent Republican Rob Ross and Republican Ronnie Merrell.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Board of Commissioners District 5, at large, Democrat Ervin Bateman and Republicans Ed Danko and Anne P. Petera.

Dare County Sheriff: incumbent Republican Doug Doughtie

Dare County Clerk of Superior Court: incumbent Republican Dean Martin Tolson

Dare County Register of Deeds: incumbent Democrat Vanzolla McMurran and Republican Cheryl House

Elections to the Dare County Board of Education are now partisan contests.

Dare Board of Education District 1: Republicans Frank O. Hester and Rick Casey.

Dare Board of Education, District 2: Jen Alexander, Democrat, and incumbent Republican Joe Tauber.

Dare Board of Education, District 3: Representing Duck, Southern Shores and Kitty Hawk, incumbent Margaret Lawler, a Democrat.