Primary ballot set; filing final

Published 10:16 am Wednesday, March 7, 2018

The filing period for elected offices ended at noon on February 28, and there will be some choices for Currituck voters on the May 8 republican Primary ballot, but some decisions have already been made – barring any unaffiliated candidate petitioning (by May 8) to be on November’s ballot.

Incumbent Mike Payment, Republican, drew no competition for his District 3 seat on the Board of Commissioners.

However, both incumbents for the other seats on the Board of Commissioners are facing challenges.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Incumbent Mike Hall will face Kevin McCord in the Republican Primary for the at-large seat, and the winner in the Primary will face democrat Joe Payne in November.

Incumbent Marion Gilbert will face challenges from two other Republicans in the May Primary for the District 5 seat, Fred Whiteman and Owen Etheridge have also filed for that seat. However, there is no Democratic challenger, so May’s winner will take the post.

Incumbent and Democrat Sheriff Susan Johnson chose not to seek re-election this year. Challenging for that position, both Republicans, are Matt Beickert and Bob Douros.

Clerk of Court Ray Matusko, Republican, drew no challenger for his position.

For the non-partisan Board of Education, incumbent Bill Dobney and challenger Megan Bottelli have filed for the at-large seat and incumbent Janet Rose and challenger Josh Bass have filed for the Crawford Township seat. Incumbent Karen Etheridge drew no competition for the Poplar Branch Township seat.

Board of Education names will not appear until November’s General Election.

Currituck Board of Commissioners chairman Bobby Hanig has filed as candidate for the North Carolina House of Representatives, facing off against incumbent Beverly Boswell in the Republican Primary. The winner from the May Primary will face Democrat Tess Judge in November’s election.