History Day winners announced at Cape Hatteras

Published 10:31 am Monday, March 12, 2018

On Feb. 28, Cape Hatteras Secondary School held its fourth annual school-wide National History Day Competition.

National History Day is a literacy based competition that requires students to think critically about history and create an in-depth research project using both primary and secondary sources. It is designed to increase student research, writing, and analytical skills while allowing a little fun in a creative way.

Project options include a historical paper, exhibit, performance, documentary and website. There are two levels of competition: Middle School (6-8) and High School (9-12). In addition to the awards given in each of the categories, we added an award for best local history project and an award for student selection.

ON FEB. 20, the students at Cape Hatteras Elementary School got a chance to learn about Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics (STEAM). Principal Sherry Couch explained, “this year’s science night is unique because each of our activities has an Olympic theme. Our students are learning about STEAM and the Olympics at the same time.” At the Go for Gold station in the picture, students read “G is for Gold Medal” and then designed gold medals. About 264 people attended, including 26 staff members. (CHES photo)

Get the latest headlines sent to you

This year’s theme was Conflict and Compromise. Students explored different conflicts and ways to resolve those conflicts. Most of our Social Studies classes participated in this year’s competition. The projects were judged by 20 community members.

Competition organizers thank the community for supporting the students.

2018 National History Day Winners

Middle School Awards

Individual Exhibit: Hobson Freye, The Berlin Wall

Group Exhibit: Chloe Flythe, Lily Ratliff, Courtney Mugford, Women Rights to Join Military

Website: Jackson Pullen, Battle of Gettysburg

Documentary: Isabella Heilig, Social Stratification of Ancient Egypt

Student Pick: Daymon Stump and Triston Freeman, D-Day

High School Awards

Individual Exhibit and Local History: Michael Clark, Speaker Ban and Academic Freedom

Group Exhibit: Lauren Wright and Maddie Chandler, Election of 1800

Individual Website: Anna France, Privateers and the Revolutionary War

Group Website: Maya Damitio and Morgan Fairbanks, 1936 Berlin Olympics

High School Paper: Conner Tawes, James R. Conner