Plan Now for a Mandatory Evacuation and Reentry

Published 9:45 am Monday, March 19, 2018

Dare County Emergency Management officials are encouraging local residents, business owners, and non-resident property owners to review their evacuation and reentry plans and make sure they have the necessary permits and documentation for reentry following any Mandatory Evacuation.

Visitors are encouraged to review Vacation Rental Agreements to ensure they understand the evacuation requirement set by the North Carolina Vacation Rental Act and vacation rental insurance options.

When a Mandatory Evacuation is ordered to ensure public safety, everyone needs to have a plan. Take the time now to review, update or establish a plan to ensure the safety of your family, yourself and your business.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

After a Mandatory Evacuation of Dare County, the following Priorities and Permits are used to manage reentry:

– Priority One includes government, utility, emergency medical, damage assessment, disaster relief and other personnel needed to ensure public safety and restore essential services and critical infrastructure. These personnel are issued Critical Personnel permits. Agencies should contact Dare County Emergency Management for documentation requirements.

– Priority Two includes Dare County residents and essential personnel for critical businesses.

Dare County residents are allowed reentry with a valid North Carolina driver’s license/identification card with a local address or a current tax bill/parcel data sheet with a matching valid government issued identification. No permits are needed for Dare County residents, just proper identification.

Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply, and hotels are allowed reentry with a Priority Two permit. Permits are issued to business owners who must ensure non-resident essential employees meet stringent criteria. Contact Dare County Emergency Management for documentation requirements.

– Priority Three includes non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of non-critical businesses.

Non-resident property owners are allowed reentry with a Permit. There are two separate permits; one for property owners North of Oregon Inlet (Red) and one for property owners South of Oregon Inlet (Green). These Green and Red permits are plastic hanging placards that have been issued to property owners since April 2014. All Non-Resident Property Owner Permits (Green or Red Plastic Hanging Placards) with an April 1, 2018 expiration date remain valid until December 30, 2018.

Non-resident property owners who do not have a reentry permit can also use a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching valid government-issued identification. Non-resident property owners needing a permit should contact Dare County Emergency Management for documentation requirements.

Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses are allowed entry during Priority Three with a reentry permit. Business owners must contact Dare County Emergency Management for documentation requirements.

– Priority Four. No permits are required for visitors and the general public to enter when Priority Four reentry is announced.

It is important to take action now to ensure your evacuation plan is ready and that you have the correct documents or permits for reentry. During weather-driven events, permits may not be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall. Get your documentation in order now, not when a storm is threatening.

For additional information regarding reentry following a mandatory evacuation, visit under emergency management. Dare County Emergency Management can be contacted at (252) 475-5655.