Petera, Ross, Hester win nominations for Dare County seats

Published 10:44 pm Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Anne Petera stomped opponent Ed Danko to win the GOP nomination for the Dare County Board of Commissioners at-large seat in Tuesday’s primary election.

Petera was endorsed by outgoing commissioner Jack Shea, who is not seeking re-election.

Petera won 72.76 percent of the vote to Danko’s 27.24 percent, according to unofficial results from the state Board of Elections.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In District 2, Dare County commissioner Rob Ross won the GOP primary to defend his seat in the November election. Ross won 52.64 percent of the vote to challenger Ronnie Merrell’s 47.36 percent.

In the race for the Republican nomination for the Dare County Board of Education’s District 1 seat, Frank O. Hester beat opponent Rick Casey 58.11 percent to 41.89 percent. Current board member Charlotte White is not seeing re-election.