Currituck commissioner incumbents fall in primary

Published 12:25 am Wednesday, May 9, 2018

In Currituck County, incumbents seeking re-election to the board of commissioners didn’t fare well in Tuesday’s primary.

Current commissioner Mike Hall lost the GOP nomination to retain his at-large seat to a former commissioner, Kevin McCord, by 40.51 percent of the vote to McCord’s 59.49 percent.

The three-way race for the Republican nomination for the board’s District 5 seat was a particularly close one. J. Owen Etheridge won with 37.21 percent of the vote, edging out board incumbent Marion Gilbert, who took 31.66 percent and Fred Whiteman, who won 31.13 percent.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In the nomination for Currituck sheriff, the department’s chief deputy, Matt Beickert, won the GOP nominaton in a near landslide, taking 77.09 percent of the vote to Bob Douros’ 22.91 percent.