C’mon home: Reentry for Dare residents begins tomorrow

Published 11:13 am Friday, September 14, 2018

As of 7 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 15, residents, employees and property owners can return to areas north of Oregon Inlet unrestricted, according to Dare County Emergency Management.

This includes Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland.

The reentry covers priorities one, two and three, which includes essential personnel, permanent residents, essential personnel for critical businesses, non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of non-critical businesses.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Permanent residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license with a local address or a current Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet. Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry only with a permit. 

It is anticipated that visitors will be allowed entry to areas north of Oregon Inlet beginning Sunday, Sept. 16 at 7 a.m.

South of Oregon Inlet, NC 12 remains closed in both directions due to ocean over-wash and sand on the roadway.