Currituck lifts ban on alcohol sales

Published 11:42 am Friday, September 14, 2018

The State of Emergency declared by Currituck County remains in effect. However, the ban on alcohol sales is lifted effective at 12:00 p.m. on Sept. 14, 2018.

Citizens are advised that Dare County Government continues to restrict access into Dare County for motorists traveling south on Hwy. 158 across the Wright Memorial Bridge.  The restrictions are in place due to current warnings from the National Weather Service. Only emergency vehicles or motorists with a Critical Needs Pass issued by Currituck Emergency Management or a Priority One Pass issued by Dare County Emergency Management will be allowed entry.

Currituck County residents and property owners will be allowed access to Corolla and Carova on Sept. 15, 2018, beginning at 7:00 a.m.  Motorists will need a Currituck County re-entry pass or provide a driver’s license, tax bill, or utility bill with a county address.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Vacationers and guests will NOT be allowed entry into the Outer Banks on Saturday, Sept. 15. It is anticipated that visitor access to the Outer Banks will open on Sunday, Sept. 16.  Updates will be provided as information becomes available.

County residents may sign up for the county’s free text message alert system to receive updates by textingFLO2018to 888-777.  Updates will also be posted on:

County website: