Restricted entry begins for Hatteras Island this afternoon

Published 2:24 pm Saturday, September 15, 2018

Beginning at 2:30 p.m. today, Saturday, Sept. 15, access for Priority Levels Two and Three (essential personnel, permanent residents, essential personnel for critical businesses, non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of non-critical businesses) will be allowed entry to Hatteras Island, Dare County Emergency Management reports.

Priority One essential personnel are already being allowed. 

Visitors will be allowed access to Hatteras Island beginning Sunday, September 16 at 3 p.m.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

“Please keep in mind that there is still standing water and sand along some areas of NC Highway 12,” authorities said in a news release. “Proceed with caution and drive slowly through standing water as creating wake will cause damage to vehicles and nearby properties.

Reentry for Areas North of Oregon Inlet (including Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland began at 7 a.m. this morning.

Visitors will be allowed entry to areas north of Oregon Inlet beginning Sunday, September 16 at 7 a.m.


For detailed information about the staged reentry process, visit

Those traveling to Dare County are advised to check road conditions for travel routes due to impacts being experienced in areas south and west of the Outer Banks.

A state of emergency remains in place for all of Dare County. Ocean conditions remain hazardous and ocean swimming remains prohibited. 

Information from Towns, NPS and Dare County Schools 

National Park Service

Cape Hatteras National Seashore (north of Bonner Bridge), Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, and Wright Brothers National Memorial will reopen visitor services and facilities on Sunday, September 16 at 9 a.m., following Dare County’s reentry notice for non-residents that begins at 7:00 am. Reopening plans for Cape Hatteras National Seashore visitor services and facilities located south of Bonner Bridge will be announced later today at Status of off-road vehicle ramps and routes will be posted at 

Dare County Schools

Monday, September 17 will be an optional teacher workday for teachers at the beach and in Manteo schools. Dare County Schools will plan to open schools in the Manteo, Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills and Kitty Hawk communities on Tuesday, September 18. Schools on Hatteras Island will be closed until further notice. Should weather-related conditions warrant a change in our current plan, you will be notified immediately. 

Dare County

Dare County Offices will reopen on Monday, September 17 at 8:30 a.m. and all services, including garbage collection, will resume on a regular schedule.

Town of Southern Shores

Yard waste pick-up is on normal Town website-advertised schedule and protocols.

Trash pick-up is Monday as scheduled. 

Town of Kitty Hawk

The Town is back to normal operations and offices will reopen on Monday at 8:30. 

All Town beach accesses, parks and the bath house are open.

The Recycle center will resume regular hours on Monday and trash collection is also scheduled to take place on Monday.