Apply for new Criminal Justice Fellows program by April 30

Published 9:44 am Saturday, March 23, 2019

The North Carolina Criminal Justice Fellows Program is a new forgivable education loan program for high school seniors and graduates in eligible counties who agree to enter a criminal justice profession in an eligible county in the state.

Dare, Currituck, Tyrrell and Hyde counties are eligible counties.

This fellowship will fund an applied associate degree in criminal justice or approved related field of study, from any North Carolina community college.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Students who receive the educational loan would have five years to repay, though it would be forgiven if they enter and remain in a criminal justice profession within North Carolina for four years in one of 65 eligible counties.

The types of jobs that the fellows can go into include state and local sworn law-enforcement officers, state correctional officers, sworn sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, detention officers, state juvenile justice officers and telecommunicators under the direct supervision of a law enforcement agency and other correctional officers maintained by local governments and juvenile justice agencies.

The program pays tuition, fees and books for two 16-hour semesters, or a total of $3,152.

One hundred fellowships will be awarded each year and the first class will begin in the fall of 2019. The closing date for the application for the Criminal Justice Fellows Program is April 30.

Applications and information are available at or call 919-662-4609.



Applications accepted for Lesieur scholarship

COA Foundation holds annual Community Partner Dinner