• 66°

Third quarter honors announced for Cape Hatteras Secondary School

Cape Hatteras Secondary School’s academic awards for the third quarter of the 2018-19 have been announced.

Principal’s list

Twelfth grade: Rodney Brinson, Betty Chen, Andrea Covey, Morgan Fairbanks, Molly Greenwood, Tarryn Johnson, Cody Macdowell, Ronaldo Martinez, Trafton Reynolds, Jordan Varamo

Eleventh grade: Anna France, Ava Garry, Lexus Meekins, Lane Stevenson,

Tenth grade: Andrew Austin, Calia Babilonia, Laya Barley, Maria Bradley, Amber Harrell, Laura Hooper, Owen Little, Eliza Quidley, Hailey Quidley, Rubie Shoemaker, Conner Tawes

Ninth grade: Jose Briones Avila, Sydney Brown, Kirra Folb, Yoselyn Gabriel, Madison Keiser, Isabella Lettieri, Jennifer Mohnal, Elizabeth Muller, Clara Oden, Kathleen Quigley, Skye Swenson

Eighth grade: Emily Bayne, Lucas Blankenship, Oralia Cirisa, Gideon Couch, Misty Elder, Casia Ensenat, Lilian Ratliff, Addyson Wilson

Seventh grade: Noah Baker, Evela Chandler, Maddox Cromwell, Tyler Midgette, Abby O’Neal, Grace Vernesoni

Sixth grade: Kimber Ballance, Kirra Ensenat, Elizabeth Fairbanks, Caroline Fuller, Thomas Gwin, Audrey Kramer, Ashlyn Midgett, Bryanna Midgett, Rylee Oberbeck, Catherine Parker, Delaney Ranno, Emma Riggs, Shaytana Trejo, Ruby Whitehead

Honor roll

Twelfth grade: Karlene Ballance, Wheeler Ballance, John Canning, Colby Day, Timothy Fletcher, Josefine Harmon, Andrew Hill, Henry Macchio, Nyah Machie, Avery O’Neal, Jazmine Outland, Pedro Padilla Arellano, Samantha Smith, Madalyn Tudor-Duncan, Jillian Webster, Kaitlyn Whipp

Eleventh grade: Justin Chandler, Amy Chen, Jose Cirisa, John Contestable, Liam Dilworth, Chyenne Gaskill, Sara Gaskins, Stanley Godwin, Dylan Gray, James Hild, Zachary Huizing, Jadon Midgett, Erin Millard, Peyton Mugford, Arlen Palacios, Donald Shepherd, Sophie Waterfield, Hannah Williams

Tenth grade: Emmiline Baker, Johan Briones, Victor Caldera, Stevan Castillo, John Fairbanks, McKayla Gordon, Marlee Luckett, James Tawes, Nathan Whitehead

Ninth grade: Kaleigh Canning, Emma Del Monte, Tristan Freeman, Hobson Freye, Gavin Herring, Robert Keiser, Jerusalem Mills, Jobell Porter, Jackson Pullen, Marion Sauer, Daymon Stump

Eighth grade: Chloe Flythe, Dean Hild, Declan McMahon, Courtney Mugford, Maleia Quidley, Haley Salisbury, Ansley Thompson, Jocelyn Welsh

Seventh grade: David Amortegui Valencia, Sayler Bacon, Raven Castillo Harkrader, Rodriguez Garcia Rodriguez, Isabella Heilig, Adrianne Jackson, Austin Jones, Lana Luckett, Sherlyn Mendieta-Lozano, Silas Midgett, Elaina Millard, Alice Oden, Kinzlie Philips, Kylie Philips, Faith Porras Ruter, Lillian Quist, Alexander Sauer, Marisol Velazquez Lozano, Anthony Zenteno Luna

Sixth grade: Teigan Augustson, Charlie Brinson, Amy Briones-Montiel, Jazira Indigo Christ, Griffin Couch, Justin Freeman, Kevin Gonzalez-Caldera, Ryver Hatter, Jade Hernandez-Sanchez, Lydia Hooper, Ann Lord, Colin Tracy Midgett, George Powell, Dorian Tristan Speedy, William Thatch, Dawson Williams, Ainsley Wilson



Lucia Petruccelli earns dean’s list honors

Cape Hatteras Elementary School academic honors announced


North Carolina’s unemployment rate falls to nearly half of lockdown’s peak


Arrest made in Saturday shooting on Knotts Island


NC 12 on Hatteras Island to reopen at 5 p.m., NCDOT advises ‘extreme caution’


NC 12 on Ocracoke back open, ferry service resumes


Overwash causes closure of parts of NC 12 on Hatteras and Ocracoke


Running out of storm names, Atlantic season goes Greek


Regional COVID-19 case count update


Permit for water treatment system issued for Chemours site


Duck Town Council reviews promotions and contracts


Mascot name change presentation brought to Dare Board of Education


Dare County warns about coastal flooding and NC 12 impact


Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative linemen travel to Alabama to assist with Hurricane Sally damage


UPDATED: Body found in Virginia believed to be missing North Carolina man, suspect charged


NCDOT: Bigfoot Slough dredging tentatively scheduled for next week


Cooper: North Carolina can elementary schools move to Plan A in October


ARHS reports additional COVID-19 related death in Bertie County


Unsettled weather visits Outer Banks


Four positive COVID-19 cases reported at Peak Resources


Additional COVID-19 related death reported in Pasquotank County


NC lieutenant governor: Reopen schools without mask mandate


Some North Carolina voters mistakenly get two absentee ballots


Currituck County Board of Education names Lutz as superintendent


Constitution Week begins Thursday


Demolition starts for new College of The Albemarle building