Commissioners agree to purchase Buxton property

Published 7:45 am Thursday, June 20, 2019

The Dare County Board of Commissioners has agreed to purchase the former PNC bank building, adjacent to the existing Fessenden Center Annex and the county’s public works transfer station in Buxton.

The preliminary plan is to move the Annex into the newer, larger bank building that has more parking available. The purchase price was $320,000.

In other action on June 3, the board approved the manager’s proposed budget for fiscal year 2020 with minor adjustments.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

A final contract with the state of North Carolina facilitates the building of a new dredge that will be used to keep Oregon and Hatteras inlets open and to attend to other harbors in Dare County.

An extensive report on modernizing the Regional Airport on Roanoke Island was received, but no action was taken. The report looked at lengthening the runway from 4,300 feet to 5,800 feet to accommodate jets used in air commerce. The price tag is estimated at $30 million, with $3 million from Dare County and the remainder from state and national sources.

On the consent agenda, the board approved Standards and Funding Plan for 2019-20 for Juvenile Crime and Prevention Council and lease rates for water towers in Southern Shores, Avon and Duck charged to Verizon.

The board made appointments boards of 10 organizations:

Albemarle Regional Resource Conservation and Development Council: reappointed Ann Sinclair.

Dare County Waterways Commission: reappointed Michael Flynn, Fletcher Willey and Dan Oden.

Fessenden Center Advisory Board: appointed Rich Kenner.

Hatteras Community Center Board: reappointed Ricki Shepherd, Dennis Robinson and George Banks.

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council: reappointed Robert Trivette, Molly McGinnis, Vance Haskett, Gail Hutchison, Jennifer Karpowicz, Edward Hall Jr., Keith Letchworth, Shelia Davies, Bonnie Bennett, Steve House, Pat Hudspeth, Richard J. Martin, Laura Twichell, Katherine Irby, Nancy Griffin and Mollie Sinks and appointed Chelsea Artz and Marcus Hester-Smith.

Land Transfer Tax Appeals Board: appointed Michael Siers from Nags Head and reappointed Jack Overman and Michael Stone.

Library Board: reappointed Lisa Phillips.

Manns Harbor Community Center: reappointed Bett Beasley and Vickie Craddock and appointed Jennifer Gilbert.

Roanoke Island Community Center: reappointed Jonique Lee, Betty Selby, Allen Moran and Clarence Lewis.

Rodanthe-Waves-Salvo Community Building: reappointed Joey O’Neal.



Fabulous shark’s tooth fossil find

New principal announced for First Flight High School