Class of 2019 graduates from Cape Hatteras Secondary

Published 7:49 pm Monday, June 24, 2019

On Saturday night, members of the Cape Hatteras Secondary Class of 2019 walked across the stage in the Buxton campus gymnasium and celebrated memories and passage.

The cavernous room was jammed with family members, recent graduates and friends and neighbors who came to witness the 42 seniors receive evidence of 13 years of academic work. Some 800 chairs were arranged in the large space and filled with proud and supportive Hatteras Islanders.

Both the valedictorian and salutatorian saluted the island.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

“This island is a special place and people on it make it so,” said valedictorian Morgan Fairbanks.

Salutatorian Molly Greenwood, who later received the class citizenship award, saluted the outpouring of support from so many who bestowed scholarships on the class.

The class also delivered the message. In recent commencement ceremonies, classes have presented a montage of photos and videos of school and life events. At the end of the Class of 2019 video presentation called “This is Us,” the class wrote, “We want to thank you for supporting our journey through life.”

Challenges were delivered.

“Keep the spirit of volunteering,” said Greenwood.

Drew Sawyer, principal of First Flight Elementary School in Kill Devil Hills, was the guest speaker. In the seventh grade, Sawyer taught the class social studies.

He talked first about the uniqueness of fingerprints. He said “you also have a unique life print.”

“What kind of life print do you want to leave,” he queried.

Flawlessly calling 42 names was senior counselor Karla Jarvis as Principal Beth Rooks handed the all-important high school diploma to each graduate.

For both the processional and recessional, the graduation band played the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance” by Edward Elgar under the direction of band director Sean McCroskey.

Tassels were turned and, after several tugs, back and yellow balloons descended on the graduates. Several were popped during the closing speech thanking those who helped the class.

Then, the new graduates of Cape Hatteras Secondary walked out of the gym into new dreams and goals. To achieve those goals, members of the class received $560,600 dollars in scholarships.

Attending the Cape Hatteras Secondary commencement were Board of Education members Bea Basnight, chair, Mary Ellon Ballance, vice chair, and members Joe Tauber, Frank Hester and David Twiddy. Dare County commissioner Danny Couch was present. Dare Schools Superintendent John Farrelly and assistant superintendents Arty Tillett and Sandy Kinzel were seated on the stage. Farrelly issued the Declaration of Commencement.

The U.S. Coast Guard presented the colors.

On Saturday evening, the weather was perfect for a commencement. The Hatteras Island sky crowned the event with a glorious sunset creating a colorful evening sky and signaling an end.

In the east, an almost full moon was rising and heralded an evening full of promise.

Cape Hatteras Secondary Class of 2019

Karlene McKenzie Balance, Wheeler Daniel Balance, Max Everett Bigney, Rodney Wayne Brinson, III, Claudia Grace Caldwell, Seth Anderson Caldwell, John Patrick Canning, III, Cory Clayton Cartier, Betty Chen. Andrea Michelle Covey

And also, Maya Frances Damitio, Colby Hayes Day, Morgan Nicole Fairbanks, Timothy John Fletcher, II, Molly Marie Greenwood, Josefine Grace Harmon, Andrew Thomas Hill, Tarryn Leigh Johnson, Henry Joseph Macchio, Cody Lee MacDowell

And also, Nyah Elizabeth Machie, Ronaldo Mohamed Martinez, Avery Georganna O’Neal, Keegan Berriet O’Neal, Jadon Edward Oliver, Jazmine Michele Outland, Pedro Padilla Arellano, Daniel Palacios, Trafton Ellis Reynolds, II, Vivian Lydia Russell

And also Zebediah Burrus Shoemaker, Chase Bradley Silver, Josiah Steven Simmons, Samantha Leigh Smith, Kaitlyn Alicia Stephens, Melissa Hope Sturgill, Madalyn Raye Tudor-Duncan, Jordan Christopher Varamo, Lauran Grandi Wage, Jillian Ruth Webster, Jeffrey Brian Wescoat, III, and Kaitlyn Marie Whipp.



Summer programs planned at Hyde County-Davis Center

2019 Governor’s School session opening