• 79°

Outer Banks Community Foundation awards $192,000 in scholarships

The Outer Banks Community Foundation awarded $192,000 in scholarships this spring, helping students from across the Outer Banks achieve their educational dreams.

Thirty graduating seniors from Cape Hatteras Secondary School, Manteo High School, Currituck County High School, Ocracoke School and First Flight High School received scholarships for the 2019-20 academic year. Of these students, 10 received awards that are renewable for up to four years of college.

In addition to these awards, OBCF has also renewed financial support to 19 current college students who earned multi-year scholarships.

OBCF launched multiple new scholarship programs this year, including one in memory of local education advocate and the first female OBCF board member: the Josephine A. Oden Scholarship is a four-year, $20,000 award for students from Hatteras Island. The scholarship was awarded to Cape Hatteras Secondary School senior Nyah Machie.

“To me, receiving this award meant I was one step closer to taking my life to the next level by attending college,” Machie said. “I had gone through so many moments where I completely gave up on the idea of college because I never thought I would be able to afford it. Receiving this award was the extra kick I needed to remind myself that anything you put your mind to is possible, and to never, ever give up.”

The Howell Revier Shearouse Jr. Scholarship is a four-year, $20,000 award for a student from Dare County who plans to attend a public college, university or technical school in North Carolina who has a demonstrated work history while in high school. The scholarship was awarded to First Flight High School senior Hannah Ellington.

“This award means a lot to me because I’ve had a constant worry for years that I was not going to be able to pay for college, or that I was going to have to take out a lot of loans,” Ellington said. “Now I feel a lot less worried going into college.”

The Elizabeth and Wayne Evans Scholarship is a four-year, $10,000 award for nursing students from the Outer Banks with demonstrated financial need. The scholarship, inspired by the generosity Elizabeth Evans was shown as a young nursing student, was awarded to senior Josefine Harmon of Cape Hatteras Secondary School. Harmon also received the Mabel O. Cooper Scholarship and the Greg and Eden Honeycutt Scholarship.

The Milton A. Jewell Academic Scholarship, a four-year, $24,000 award, went to Isabel Estes of First Flight High School. First Flight High School senior Brianna Curi received the Jerry and Arlene Davis Scholarship, a four-year, $24,000 award. For a full list of scholarship recipients, visit www.obcf.org/scholarships/recent-recipients.

Scholarship funds have been generously donated by individuals, families, businesses, nonprofits, civic groups and government agencies to help local students pursue higher education. Any community member can establish a scholarship fund with OBCF by calling Lorelei Costa at 252-261-8839 or donate to an existing fund online at www.obcf.org/donate.



Killer Dunes race, fun run to support Friends of Jockey’s Ridge

New principal announced for First Flight High School


Second COVID-19 case reported in Hyde County


Trump won’t be in Charlotte, but RNC may still hold events


Bill earmarks $300M more COVID-19 funds for N.C. government


Scuppernong River Festival canceled for this year


Weekly Devotion – John 6:1-2


Additional COVID-19 case reported in Dare; total now 23


NC Oyster Trail accepting membership applications


Dare sets second COVID-19 drive-through testing event


Red Cross blood drives set for June


Devan Rodman named to Dean’s List at University of the Sciences


Social Security Matters: Ask Rusty – Are Social Security and Medicare running out of money?


Two indicted for bilking $13M from North Carolina Medicaid


First Flight High School seniors take the stage for graduation


‘Drive-in’ graduations approved for DCS, traditional ceremonies considered for July


You Decide: Can we have both health and wealth?


Manteo sets public hearing on budget


Tyrrell County Schools employee tests positive for COVID-19; campuses closed for cleaning


Dangerous Animal Appeal Board upholds determination on two Nags Head dogs


Currituck Planning Board recommends fire protection changes


High rip current risk for many Outer Banks beach areas; moderate risk for Currituck and south of Cape Hatteras


Many states scrambling to update hurricane plans for virus


Protesters in some cities target Confederate monuments


Police use tear gas to disperse Raleigh protesters


Stenhouse heads to Bristol buoyed by good run at Charlotte