Murphy wins Republican nomination for Jones seat; election Sept. 10

Published 4:15 pm Friday, July 12, 2019

On July 9, physician and state Representative Greg Murphy won the Republican nomination for the North Carolina Third Congressional District, a seat vacant since the death of Walter B. Jones Jr.

Murphy will now face Democratic nominee Allen Thomas, former mayor of Greenville and Constitution Party candidate Greg Holt and Libertarian Tim Harris. The special election is set for Sept. 10, 2019.

In the second primary election, Murphy from Greenville won decisively garnering 21,444 votes or 59.7 percent of the vote over pediatrician Joan Perry, from Kinston.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In northeastern North Carolina, Republican voters in Dare, Camden, Chowan, Tyrrell, Hyde, and Perquimans supported Murphy. Perry carried Currituck and Pasquotank.

The third district has 17 counties and 236 precincts. Republicans cast 35,945 votes across the district.

Voting results across the district:

Dare: Murphy, 839; Perry 501

Currituck: Perry 575; Murphy 426

Camden: Murphy 201; Perry 140

Pasquotank: Perry 452; Murphy 435

Perquimans: Murphy 368; Perry 241

Chowan: Murphy: 456; Perry 229

Tyrrell: Murphy 84; Perry 58

Hyde: Murphy 145; Perry 52

Pitt: Murphy: 4,835; Perry 1,048

Beaufort: Murphy 1,960; Perry 1,027

Pamlico: Murphy 548; Perry 237

Craven: Murphy: 3,526; Perry 2,027

Carteret: Murphy 3,507; Perry 2,096

Jones: Perry 323; Murphy 250

Lenoir: Perry 2,236; Murphy 754

Greene: Perry 399; Murphy 320

Onslow: Murphy 2,790; Perry 2,786