Dare real estate and personal property tax bills mailed out

Published 4:41 pm Sunday, August 11, 2019

Dare County Real Estate and Personal Property tax bills were mailed July 30.

Tax bills are due Sept. 1 and delinquent after January 6, 2020.

At the Dare County Board of Commissioners meeting Aug. 5, the commissioners charged tax collector Becky Huff with collecting these 2019 taxes totaling $91,873,024.56 based on a valuation of $12.99 billion. These figures cover the 2019 taxes for Dare County and the towns of Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, Manteo, Southern Shores and Duck.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

For Dare County in the 2018 tax year, taxes collected by June 30, 2019 totaled $60.93 million, representing 99.48 percent of the tax levied. Outstanding for 2018 is $316,647.68

For the current 2019 tax year, the tax collector offers several ways to pay taxes until the Jan. 6, 2020 deadline without penalties or interest.

Enclosed with the tax bills are a Tax Payment Plan option as well as an authorization agreement for automatic deposits.

Dare County tax bill can be paid in person at the Dare County Tax Office, located in the Dare County Justice Center at 962 Marshall C. Collins Dr. in Manteo, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Payments by debit cards, checks and cash are accepted with no convenience fees. Payments by credit card will be charged a surcharge of 2 percent of the payment amount.

A dropbox for payments that are being paid by check is located in front of the Dare County Justice Center at 962 Marshall C. Collins Drive. The dropbox is located by the flagpole.

Tax payments can be made at the Dare County Water Department Offices in Kill Devil Hills and Frisco.

Payments can also be made online or over the phone. Additional details are available at darenc.com/taxbill.



Communications system manufacturer expands in Pasquotank County

Dare County Board of Health and Human Services to meet