Dare County Schools recognized as a National Board Accomplished School District

Published 6:37 am Tuesday, October 8, 2019

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards unveiled on September 26 a program that recognizes school districts across the country that work hard to promote student learning through accomplished teaching. The National Board Accomplished Districts program will initially honor 81 districts in which at least 20% of its teachers have achieved National Board certification, encouraging teachers to be their best and effectively driving student learning.

The 81 Accomplished Districts come from ten states including Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington. The top three districts by percent of NBCTs are Piedmont City School Districts in Alabama, Bellevue School District 405 in Washington and Nashville Community HSD 99 in Illinois.

“In Dare County Schools, we are proud to be among the top districts nationwide being recognized as a National Board Accomplished District. The greatest impact on student learning comes from highly qualified teachers. The National Board Certification process is an outstanding professional development opportunity for our teachers and the positive impact on student learning is clear,” said digital communications director Keith Parker.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

“High-quality teaching is the most important in-school factor impacting student learning. The districts that measured up to be included in the National Board Accomplished District program understand the value of accomplished teaching and support teachers to be their best,” said Peggy Brookins, a National Board Certified teacher and the president and CEO of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Dare County Schools will be recognized with an award for the district office and unique celebrations for the NBCTs in those districts. Special recognition will be presented at the October 8 Board of Education meeting at Kitty Hawk Elementary School.



Dare County Schools Teachers of the Year celebrated

Dare school performance detailed