Scott McLaughlin named Distinguished Citizen

Published 8:02 am Saturday, October 26, 2019

Scott McLaughlin has been named the recipient of the 2019 Scuppernong River Festival Distinguished Citizen Award.  The award is presented annually to a distinguished Columbia or Tyrrell County citizen.

McLaughlin was selected for the 2019 honor in recognition of his business, professional and civic involvement and contributions to the Town of Columbia and Tyrrell County. He is particularly noted for renovations and improvements to residential and business properties throughout the community.

“This year the Scuppernong River Festival Committee honors a person with deep Tyrrell County roots who has made an impact on the business community in Columbia, in Tyrrell County and beyond,” state Durwood Cooper Jr. in making the presentation on the eve of the festival.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Distinguished Citizen Award is given for lifetime or special service to the community through civic, cultural, service, church, volunteer, business, professional, elected or other dedicated and committed contributions to the town and county.

Presented annually since 2004, recipients have included Carlisle Harrell, Barbara Spencer, George G. Owens Sr., Shelton Ludford, David and Fiono Finch, Frances Voliva, Philip E. House, Sr., Joseph B. Wynns, Dr. Alan Brickhouse, Janie Spencer and Thomas W. Spruill, W. Braxton Voliva, Steve Bryan, Dana Summerrell and Durwood Cooper Sr.



Outside westbound lane of Melvin Daniels ‘Little’ Bridge closed for roadway repair

First North Carolina flu death in current season recorded