Tyrrell Democrats to battle for Board of Commissioners

Published 3:59 am Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Tyrrell County Democrats are assured of a battle in the March 3 primary election for three seats on the Board of Commissioners.

Incumbent county commissioners Nathan T. “Tommy” Everett and Carl Willis have filed for re-election. Challengers Joyce Sykes Fitch, Darryl Liverman, Kisha Norman and Dorothy Spencer are also running to fill the three seats that will become vacant next fall. Incumbent Lawrence Swain, unaffiliated, has until Mar. 3 to file his petition to run again.

Other commissioners, whose terms expire in 2022, are Jordan Davis, Republican, and Nina Griswell, Democrat. All seats are at-large.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Democrat Gene Boger is seeking another term as Register of Deeds. She is unopposed both in the primary and general election, assuring her of four more years in office.

Board of Education incumbents Lee Scripture and Janie Spencer filed for another term. They will be challenged by Janet Bowser for the two seats at issue. School board elections are non-partisan, and the two candidates who are elected Mar. 3 will take office for four years in July. Other members, whose terms end in 2022, are Carlos Armstrong, Karen Clough and Robin Dunbar.

The filing deadline for public offices was noon on Dec. 20.

Beginning in 2020, North Carolina voters will be asked to provide photo identification when voting in-person or absentee-by-mail, with some exceptions.

Voters may provide any type of acceptable photo identification. More than 130 types of ID will be accepted. For a list of acceptable IDs, see https://www.ncsbe.gov/voter-ID.