Regional transportation group adopts priorities

Published 9:28 am Thursday, March 5, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Rural Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC) for the 10 northeastern-most counties on Feb. 19 adopted seven key legislative initiatives, reported Angela Welsh, director of the Albemarle Rural Planning Organization in Hertford.

The initiatives are:

  1. Ensure funding for future interstate along US 64 and I-87 from the Hampton Roads region in Virginia to Raleigh.
  2. Continue to support additional permanent sources of funding for new and replacement ferry vessels and support vessels.
  3. Seek methods to increase current level of state dredging funds to maintain year around, free and clear navigational channels.
  4. Seek methods to increase the current level of NCDOT Division 1 [northeastern counties] maintenance funds. Current maintenance funds are not adequate to maintain NCDOT right-of-way.
  5. Ensure funding for widening of highways and needed bridge replacements along hurricane evacuation routes.
  6. Continue to support the rotation of key RPO and NCDOT Division staff, throughout the state, on the prioritization work group to ensure all RPOs and NCDOT Divisions are represented equitably.
  7. Replacement of the Lindsay C. Warren Bridge, also known as the Alligator River Bridge.

A core service of state government – vital to economic development – is ensuring adequate funding for the construction and maintenance of bridges, highways, public transportation systems, airports, bicycle and pedestrian path networks and the ferry system.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Albemarle Rural Planning Organization brings together local and state officials for the purpose of developing long-range local and regional multi-modal transportation plans and securing needed transportation improvements for the Albemarle region.

The RTAC is the recognized transportation planning policy board for the Albemarle Rural Planning Organization, which works in partnership with the North Carolina Department of Transportation assisting the counties of Currituck, Camden, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Gates, Chowan, Washington, Tyrrell, Hyde and Dare with regional and locally based short- and long-range transportation planning.



Bunce joins Town of Manteo staff