Additional restrictions imposed on entry to Dare County; non-resident property owners prohibited

Published 6:24 pm Friday, March 20, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dare County Control Group met Friday evening, March 20 to receive an update regarding COVID-19 and to discuss additional restrictions necessary to protect the public health and safety for the community.  

According to the press release issued by the county, as part of Dare’s continued response to the COVID-19 pandemic, non-resident property owners will be prohibited from entering Dare County beginning tonight, Friday, March 20 at 10 p.m. 

“The intent of this declaration is to decrease the risk of exposure and limit the spread of COVID-19 in Dare County by eliminating non-essential travel, thereby reducing the number of individuals in the county and ultimately reducing potential virus spread and the burden on our healthcare system,” stated the release. “It is imperative to take measures to mitigate the consequences of COVID-19 and not overwhelm our healthcare system so it can care for those who are at most risk and continue to provide routine medical and emergency services.” 

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Previous restrictions – including the prohibition of mass gatherings and the entry of visitors – remain in place. 

“While disappointing for many people who enjoy spending time on the Outer Banks, these decisions are made in the interest of preserving the public health, safety and welfare of our community,” concluded the county’s statement.



Albemarle Regional Health Services confirms first COVID-19 case in northeastern NC

Dare County Center, Baum Center providing meals during shutdown