Hyde County updates state of emergency order

Published 8:51 am Monday, April 6, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On March 27, 2020, Governor Roy Cooper issued an executive order for North Carolinians to stay at home for thirty days, until April 29, 2020, in another step to slow the spread of the COVID-19. The statewide order takes effect March 30, 2020 at 5 p.m. and reduces the size of gatherings to 10 people as well as provides for essential businesses to continue to operate while prioritizing social distancing measures. Residents should only leave the house for work at an essential business, getting necessities for their homes, getting medical help, helping others or exercise. Anyone leaving their home should also continue to practice social distancing and remain at least six feet away from others. Click here for full order.

In accordance with this order, on March 30, 2020 the Hyde County Board of Commissioners amended the local State of Emergency Order adopting the guidelines set forth in the Governor’s Order. This includes amending the prohibition of mass gatherings to 10 or more people, adopting the Stay at Home order, and adopting the definition of Essential Businesses and Operations as stated in the order. We strongly discourage mass gatherings of less than ten people, except for those necessary for essential businesses and operations or those composed by members of the same family. This order goes into effect at 5:00 pm March 30, 2020.

Furthermore, visitation to Mainland Hyde County is prohibited until further notice. Residents from Beaufort, Dare, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties shall be granted entry only for those activities permitted by the Governor’s Stay at Home Order.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The order also adds additional restrictions to access Ocracoke for non-resident property owners and workers. Only people working on critical repairs requiring a building permit will be issued temporary entry permits. Other repairs will need to wait until the Governor’s order is lifted to continue. Permit applications will be evaluated on a case by case basis and will be verified before an entry permit is issued. Temporary permits issued prior to this order that cannot be verified using the amended entry guidelines will be voided. The NCDOT Ferry Division will have access to a list of all permits issued and will deny entry if you have not been verified.

This order does not affect permanent residents or anyone previously allowed entry without requiring a temporary permit. Vendors, delivery personnel, and service providers of critical infrastructure are also permitted and do not need a temporary permit. Anyone that is not working on critical repairs should adhere to the Governor’s order and return home by 5:00 pm March 30. If you believe your project fits the criteria to be issued a temporary entry permit, fill out an online application at http://www.hydecountync.gov/ocracoke-covid. Everyone in the vehicle will need to be authorized or they will not be granted entry.

Ocracoke entry will be restricted to the following priorities:


Hyde County/State/Federal Requested Resources

Hyde County Emergency Personnel


National Park Service

Hyde County Employees

Hyde County School System Employees/Staff

Code Enforcement Officers/Inspectors

Department of Transportation

Power Company

Hyde County Debris Removal Contractors or Subcontractors

Hyde County Debris Monitoring Contractor

Sanitation/Garbage Disposal

Mail and Parcel Delivery






Ocracoke Residents

Ocracoke Business Owners and Employees

Ocracoke Temporary Entry Certificate Holders

Anyone not covered by the above priorities will need to be validated by Hyde County and a temporary permit will be issued if the application is approved. An updated list of entry permits will be provided to NCDOT Ferry Division as they are issued.

Residents seeking entry must have the appropriate Hyde County issued re-entry tag or a valid North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Ferry Division issued priority pass. Expired Hyde County re-entry tags will be honored as an acceptable means of establishing priority for this event. The Hyde County re-entry tag colors now allowed access are as follows:

  1. Emergency Personnel (Red)
  2. Infrastructure (Yellow)
  3. Resident (Green)

If a resident fails to produce the aforementioned credentials, they will be required to show evidence of residency in Ocracoke or hold a temporary re-entry permit issued by Hyde County.

Please continue to remain calm but vigilant in the fight to slow the spread of COVID-19. Maintain six feet of distance between yourself and others, wash your hands as directed by the CDC, and whenever possible please stay home. Together we can stop the spread of this pandemic in our county, state, and nation!



Capital projects now on Dare County’s list