Nursing students receive pins at nontraditional COA ceremony

Published 10:06 am Friday, May 15, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Twenty-three Associate Degree Nursing students received nursing pins at College of The Albemarle’s forty-eighth annual pinning ceremony on Thursday, May 7. This year’s celebration was held as a drive-through pinning to allow for a festive event while adhering to the parameters and recommendations as provided by the governor’s office and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Each student and their family members arrived in one vehicle and remained parked until their name was called. Opening remarks were provided by COA President Dr. Jack Bagwell and president of the ADN Class of 2020 Lauren Judge. When the student’s name was read aloud, the student got out of their vehicle and walked the tree-lined entrance of the Elizabeth City campus and picked up their rose and pin while Katie Miller, department chair of the ADN program, read the student’s message of thanks written to their family and friends. Once all students had received their pins, each lit their Nightingale lamp and recited the International Council of Nurses’ Pledge. The ceremony was broadcast through a live audio stream, as well as via Zoom with 100 attendees connecting online.

The Dr. L. Everett Sawyer Award, presented to the student who most exemplifies conscientiousness and zeal for learning, was awarded to two students this year: Winborne Evans and Virginia Shackelford.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Students recognized for receiving the Dr. Zack D. Owens and Martha Anderson Owens Nursing Endowment Scholarship, maintaining at least a 2.5 grade point average and enrolled full-time, were Brianna Borst, Holly Burcker, Jamie Mazzenga, Emily Uperti-Patti and Melissa Vann.



Currituck Board of Ed approves moving forward with graduation plans

More than $416k approved by FEMA for mold remediation at CHSS