• 73°

Scholarships and future plans for Cape Hatteras Secondary’s Class of 2020

At Cape Hatteras Secondary School, the Class of 2020 received $151,893 in scholarships to pursue post-secondary education. Six graduates are attending North Carolina universities, nine are aiming for College of The Albemarle and seven more will attend community colleges elsewhere. Two are attending private colleges, two will join the workforce and five are undecided.

Four graduates are slated to join the U.S. Coast Guard and two will join the U.S. Army.

Cape Hatteras Secondary School Class of 2020:

Chelsea Carolina Arztz. Wake Tech.

Amy Chen. UNC Chapel Hill. Valedictorian. Student Government Association ($500), Avon Property Owners Association ($1,500), Kinnakeet Community ($500), Carolina Covenant ($15,293).

Jose Angel Cirisa. Cape Fear Community College, Community Interpretation. Carl Bornfriend Scholarship ($1,000).

John Bazemore Contestable. Salutatorian. UNC Wilmington. Cape Hatteras Anglers Club ($4,000), North Carolina Beach Buggy Association ($3,600).

Kai Austin Detter. Workforce.

Liam Thomas Dilworth. Western Carolina University. Kinnakeet Community ($500).

Anna Elizabeth France. Meredith College, Business Administration. Greg and Eden Honeycutt ($1,000), Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative ($8,000).

Ava Elizabeth Garry. University of California at Santa Barbara, International Studies. Dare County Boat Builders ($4,000). Wayne Fulcher Memorial, Dare County Arts Council Artrageous Youth ($500), Betty Ruth Flowers Gibbs Memorial ($1,500), Kinnakeet Community ($500).

Chyenne Gaskill. Virginia Commonwealth University. Cape Hatteras Alumni and Friends ($500), John and Bernice Conner Memorial ($500), Sherman McDaniel Memorial ($5,000).

Stanley Sherwood Godwin. College of The Albemarle, Welding. Sound Construction ($1,000).

Dylan Michael Gray. NC State University, Environmental Science. Frank and Ann Pellegrini Memorial Scholarship ($500), Robby Gray Memorial Scholarship ($500), North Carolina Coastal Federation ($1,000), State Employees Credit Union ($10,000), Cape Hatteras Anglers Club ($2,000), Dare County Boat Builders ($3,500), Surfrider Foundation ($500), Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative ($8,000), Dare County Farm Bureau ($500), Dare County Fire Officers Association ($1,000), Hatteras Village Civic Association ($2,000), Outer Banks Association of Realtors ($1,000), Outer Banks Gun Club ($500), Osborne Scholarship ($1,500), Golden LEAF Scholarship ($12,000).

James Travis Hild. Wake Tech, Basic Law Enforcement Training. Pursue Your Passion ($1,000).

Grant James Hood. Northern Virginia Community College, Biomedical Engineering. Chaps Gray Memorial ($500), Wesley Rimmer Boyd Memorial ($500), Challenging the Future $500).

Zachary Robert Huizing. College of The Albemarle, Computer Technology. Cape Hatteras Anglers Club ($1,000), Scholarship for Academic Basketball Scholars (1,000), Joyce Bornfriend Personal Growth ($500).

Taylor Lee Jarvis. College of The Albemarle.

Trevor Paul Kaetzel. Wake Tech, HVAC.

Hunter James Langevin. College of The Albemarle, Automotive Technology.

Lexus Marie Meekins. U.S. Coast Guard. Merian Conner Sawyer Scholarship ($500), Service Award ($250).

Jadon Rock Midgett. Western Carolina University, Communications and Media. R. Stewart Couch Scholarship ($8,500), Kinnakeet Community ($500).

Madison Hope Midgett. College of The Albemarle, EMT.

Erin Elizabeth Millard. Catawba College, Environmental Science. Inez Daniels Austin ($3,000), Joyce Bornfrind Personal Growth ($500), Catawba College Presidential Scholarship ($17,000), Catawba College Environmental Award ($7,500).

Jasper Lee Morris. Workforce.

Peyton Shelby Mugford. U.S. Coast Guard. Service Award ($250).

Marcos Alexander Ortega Ancheta. U.S. Coast Guard. Service Award ($250).

Brandon Lee Paquette. U.S. Army.

Ireland Alayne Rains. U.S. Army.

Christian Phillip Rivera. Pitt Community College, Nursing. U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary ($500).

Donald Kadyn Shepherd. College of The Albemarle, undecided.

Ashton Garret Slagle. Wake Tech, animal sciences.

Lane Philip Stevenson. Florida Gulf State, Accounting. Midgett Realty ($2,000), Braxton B. Hall Scholarship ($1,000), Sherman McDaniel Memorial ($5,000), Avon Property Owners Association ($1,500).

Sophie Ella Waterfield. Appalachian State University, Spanish. Outer Banks Home Builders Association ($1,000), Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative ($8,000), Outer Banks Association of Realtors ($1,000).

Hannah Claire Williams. College of The Albemarle, Elementary Education. Dare Motorsports Charity ($1,000), Dare County Retired School Personnel ($750).

Victoria Rose Williams. U.S. Coast Guard.

Nevaeh Isaac Willis. College of The Albemarle, Culinary Arts.

Simon Joseph Wilson. College of The Albemarle, EMT. The Outer Banks Hospital Healthcare ($1,000).



Cape Hatteras Secondary School celebrates graduates at outdoor ceremony


Dare County warns about coastal flooding and NC 12 impact


Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative linemen travel to Alabama to assist with Hurricane Sally damage


UPDATED: Body found in Virginia believed to be missing North Carolina man, suspect charged


NCDOT: Bigfoot Slough dredging tentatively scheduled for next week


Cooper: North Carolina can elementary schools move to Plan A in October


ARHS reports additional COVID-19 related death in Bertie County


Unsettled weather visits Outer Banks


Four positive COVID-19 cases reported at Peak Resources


Additional COVID-19 related death reported in Pasquotank County


NC lieutenant governor: Reopen schools without mask mandate


Some North Carolina voters mistakenly get two absentee ballots


Currituck County Board of Education names Lutz as superintendent


Split North Carolina appeals court retains two amendments


School bus driver class set in Columbia


Currituck County man sentenced in federal court for illegal gun possession


State and local COVID-19 updates


Ocracoke Campground season extended through winter 2020-21


State relief bill funding comes to various agencies in northeastern North Carolina


‘Freedman, Surfman, Heroes’ program going virtual


Lowe’s offers small businesses the ‘Shark Tank’ treatment


Causey urges clothes dryer safety to prevent home fires


Additional COVID-19 related death reported in Hertford County


Currituck-Knotts Island ferry to resume service Wednesday


Cape Hatteras National Seashore: Museum now open, night driving begins Tuesday