Mandatory evacuation for Hatteras Island ordered due to Isaias threat

Published 11:25 am Saturday, August 1, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dare County Emergency Management Joint information Center posted a bulletin at 11:08 a.m. Saturday stating local officials “met via video conference Saturday morning to receive a briefing from the National Weather Service and to coordinate actions necessary to ensure public safety across Dare County. With confidence increasing that Dare County will see significant impacts from Hurricane Isaias, a state of emergency has been issued for Dare County.”

As part of the emergency declaration, a mandatory evacuation has been ordered for Hatteras Island visitors beginning Saturday, August 1 at noon. The evacuation order is for Evacuation Zone A, which covers all areas of Hatteras Island, including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village.

“Now is the time for all Hatteras Island visitors to make final preparations, secure property and evacuate with all personal belongings and follow instructions from their property management company,” stated the bulletin.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

A mandatory evacuation order for Hatteras Island residents and property owners becomes effective on Sunday, August 2 at 6 a.m.

Decision makers will meet again on Sunday morning, August 2 to receive an updated briefing from the National Weather Service and determine whether protective measures are necessary for Evacuation Zone B which covers areas north of Oregon Inlet, including the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and all unincorporated areas, including Roanoke Island and the Dare mainland. More information on evacuations zones can be found at

“Due to the forecast for life-threatening rip currents along the county’s southern beaches, the state of emergency includes restrictions on ocean swimming for Hatteras Island,” stated the bulletin. “Everyone on Hatteras Island must stay out of the water as it is unsafe for even the most experienced swimmers.”

Those evacuating to areas north of Dare County are encouraged by the county to travel westbound on Highway 64 to Interstate 95. The county states that evacuating through the rural areas to the west of Dare County will help avoid traffic backups and congestion that may prolong evacuation by traveling northbound through the Hampton Roads portion of Virginia.

For preparedness tips and information, visit

Dare County’s new online reentry permitting system is now in effect and only reentry permits for the current calendar year are valid. Residents may still use a valid driver’s license with a Dare County address for reentry. A current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued ID will also suffice. To review guidelines or apply for a permit, visit