Diane Childress named Principal of the Year for Dare County Schools

Published 2:49 pm Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Superintendent John Farrelly, Associate Superintendent Sandy Kinzel, secondary director Keith Parker, Board of Education Chairman Bea Basnight and board member Margaret Lawler presented First Flight Middle School Principal Diane Childress with the 2020-21 Principal of the Year Award on Tuesday, August 25.

Farrelly spoke highly of Childress saying, “Diane is an outstanding leader. Her professionalism and dedication to the First Flight Middle School staff, students and families is an inspiration to all of us.”


First Flight Middle School Principal Diane Childress. Courtesy DCS

Childress formerly taught third grade at Kitty Hawk Elementary School, served as an assistant principal at First Flight High School and Manteo Middle School and joined First Flight Middle School in 2018 as principal.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Childress will go on to represent Dare County Schools in the regional Principal of the Year competition.

A video from Dare County Schools shows the announcement to Childress:


The First Flight Middle School staff, along with Superintendent John Farrelly and Board of Education members Bea Basnight and Margaret Lawler, join Diane Childress as she accepts the Principal of the Year Award. Courtesy DCS