Hyde County’s 2020 election results are in

Published 10:19 am Saturday, November 7, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In Hyde County, incumbents were returned to office in the 2020 general election.

For the county’s Board of Commissioners, incumbents Benjamin C. Simmons III, Earl D. Pugh Jr. and Goldie Topping were re-elected to office.

Republican Simmons comes from Fairfield Township. Pugh, also a Republican, hails from the Lake Landing Township and Topping, a Democrat, from Swan Quarter Township.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Pugh was opposed by Thomas Midgette. Pugh drew 1,364 votes of 57.92% of the vote and Midgette 991 votes.

New to the board is Randal G. Matthews, a Democrat from the Ocracoke Township. He was unopposed but gathered 1,591 votes.

For the Hyde County Board of Education, both Randy Etheridge, current chairman, and Thomas Whitaker, current vice chairman, were reelected to the board. Etheridge earned 1,377 votes and Whitaker, 1,090.

In unaffiliated contests, Chad Spencer was elected to Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor with 1,884 votes. Jo Ann Spencer was elected to the Engelhard Sanitary District Supervisors with 140 votes with write-ins at 21. Scott Bradley was elected to the Ocracoke Sanitary District Supervisors with 419 votes, write-ins drew 287. Wayne Hodges drew 142 votes for election to the Swan Quarter Sanitary Board.

For the Sanitary Districts, two seats were open, but only one person signed up for election.

Hyde County Board of Elections meets Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020 at 6 p.m. to count absentee ballots received after the election. Ballots postmarked by Nov. 3 have until Nov. 12 at 5 p.m. to reach the Elections Office. The board will gather again at 11 a.m. on Nov. 13, to canvass the votes for submission to the state.

Major federal and state contest results in Hyde voting

President: Donald J. Trump pulled in 1,408 votes or 57%. Joseph R. Biden received 1,035 votes or 41.9% in Hyde County voting.

U.S. Senate: Thom Tillis hauled in 1,307 votes or 53.34%. Democrat Cal Cunningham gathered 1,064; Shannon W. Bray, a Libertarian, won 52; and Kevin E. Hayes grabbed 26.

U.S. House of Representative for NC District 3: Republican Greg Murphy drew 1,397 votes or 57.99% of the votes cast. He defeated Daryl Farrow who received 1,012 votes.

North Carolina Governor: Current Lt. Governor Dan Forest won Hyde County. Forest claimed 1,343 votes in the county while current Democratic Governor Roy Cooper polled 1,100 or 44.68% of the votes. Statewide, Cooper won.

North Carolina Lt. Governor: Republican Mark Robinson pulled 1,393 votes or 57.85% of the votes while Democrat Yvonne Lewis Holley drew 1,015 votes or 42.15%. Statewide, Robinson won the election.

In statewide races for Council of State, Hyde voters consistently gave Republican candidates top votes with percentages ranging from 54.33% up to 60.19% of the votes cast. Republican Steve Troxler drew the highest votes with 1,447 to be elected commissioner of agriculture.

For the North Carolina Senate seat representing Hyde County, Bob Steinburg carried the county with 1,319 votes or 54.96% defeating Dare County resident Tess Judge, who pulled 1,081 votes.

For the North Carolina House representative, Republican Bobby Hanig was re-elected to represent Dare, Currituck, Hyde and Pamlico counties. Hyde County gave Hanig 1,300 votes to Democrat Tommy Fulcher’s 1,053 votes or 44.75%.

Two district court judges were unopposed for re-election. Democrat judge Keith B. Mason received 1,503 votes. Democrat Chris McLendon polled 1,530 votes. The judges serve in the Second Judicial District composed of Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrrell and Washington counties.



USCG Auxiliary Cape Hatteras Flotilla 16-4 launches disaster fund to assist Coast Guard victims of Buxton fire

Emergency management changes in Dare County