Currituck incumbents returned to office

Published 2:39 pm Sunday, November 8, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In Currituck County, unopposed Republican incumbents return to the county’s Board of Commissioners.

Board Chairman Bob White drew 12,261 votes; Kitty Etheridge, 12,485 votes; Selina S. Jarvis, 12,566 votes; and Paul Beaumont, 12,294.

Denise Hall remains register of deeds. She was unopposed and drew 12,309 votes.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

For the county’s Board of Education, current Vice Chairman Dwan Gibbs Craft was unopposed for the Moyock seat, earning 9,465 votes. Write-ins numbered 1,756 votes.

Kelly Williams Peters defeated incumbent Will Crodick for the Fruitville Township seat on the school board. Peters chalked up 6,426 votes or 51.6% to Crodick’s 5,803 votes.

For the Currituck Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors, board Chairman Manly Morris West was re-elected with 10,563 votes.

All vote totals are unofficial. The county’s Board of Elections will meet at 11 a.m. on Nov. 13, 2020 to canvass the votes. Voter turnout in Currituck County was 73.53% or 16,054 votes out of 21,832 registered.

Federal and state contest results in Currituck voting

President: Donald J. Trump posted 11,566 votes or 72.26%. Joseph R. Biden received 4,151 votes or 25.93% in Currituck County voting. Three other party candidates drew 289 votes with write-in registering 33.

U.S. Senate: Thom Tillis hauled in 11,280 votes or 71.34%. Democrat Cal Cunningham gathered 3,812; Shannon W. Bray, a Libertarian, won 546; and Kevin E. Hayes grabbed 174.

U.S. House of Representative for NC District 3: Republican Greg Murphy drew 11,671 votes or 74.72% of the votes cast. He defeated Daryl Farrow who received 3,949 votes.

North Carolina Governor: Current Lt. Governor Dan Forest won Currituck County. Republican Forest claimed 11,210 votes or 70.57% in the county while current Democratic Governor Roy Cooper polled 4,336 or 27.29% of the votes. Statewide, Cooper won.

North Carolina Lt. Governor: Republican Mark Robinson pulled 11,696 votes or 74.6% of the votes while Democrat Yvonne Lewis Holley drew 3,982 votes or 25.4%. Statewide, Robinson won the election.

In statewide races for Council of State, Currituck voters consistently gave Republican candidates the top votes with percentages ranging from 72.26% up to 74.55% of the votes cast. Republican Steve Troxler drew the most votes with 11,530 for the incumbent commissioner of agriculture.

For the North Carolina Senate seat representing Currituck County, Bob Steinburg carried the county with 11,242 votes or 72.26% defeating Dare County resident Tess Judge, who pulled 4,316 votes. Districtwide, Steinburg won the re-election.

For the North Carolina House representative, Republican Bobby Hanig was re-elected to represent Dare, Currituck, Hyde and Pamlico counties. Currituck County gave Hanig 11,544 votes or 74.82% to Democrat Tommy Fulcher’s 3,886 votes or 25.18%.

Two district court judges, both Dare County residents, were unopposed for re-election. Republican Judge Edgar Barnes received 12,634. Democrat Judge Amber Davis Malarney polled 7,489 votes.



Currituck modifies outdoor storage and display guidelines, paving the way for large-scale retail

4-H poultry show goes on despite pandemic