Dare County announces schedule for holiday trash collection, office closure

Published 7:02 pm Sunday, December 20, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dare County Public Works, which provides trash collection for the unincorporated areas of the county as well as the Town of Kitty Hawk, has announced its collection schedule in observance of the 2020 Christmas holiday.

There will be one residential pickup per area the week of Christmas, which runs from Monday, Dec. 21 through Friday, Dec. 25:

Monday, Dec. 21: Kitty Hawk, Colington, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Tuesday, Dec. 22: Manteo, Wanchese, Manns Harbor, East Lake, Stumpy Point, Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo and Avon

Wednesday, Dec. 23 through Friday, Dec. 25: no trash collection

Commercial trash collection will take place on Monday, Dec. 21 and Wednesday, Dec. 23.

The Dare County C&D Landfill, Buxton Transfer Station and Manteo Recycle Yard will be closed on Dec. 24, Dec. 25 and Dec. 26 in observance of the Christmas holiday.

Additionally, all Dare County offices will be closed on Thursday, Dec. 24, Friday, Dec. 25 and Monday, Dec. 28 in observance of Christmas.

Dare County offices will reopen at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 29. For more information, visit www.DareNC.com.



Outer Banks Community Foundation awards $42,000 in grants

Early morning fire guts unoccupied home in Duck