ADN students receive nursing pins at COA ceremony

Published 8:43 am Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Thirty-seven Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) students received their nursing pins at College of The Albemarle’s 49th annual pinning ceremony on Tuesday, May 11, 2021. Held in COA’s Performing Arts Center, the ceremony included the presentation of pins, the lighting of Nightingale lamps and students reciting the International Council of Nurses’ pledge.

Christopher Smith received the Academic Recognition Award and was recognized as having the highest grade point average in the class. The Dr. L. Everett Sawyer Award, presented to the student who displayed outstanding abilities in all facets of nursing, was awarded to Eva Ross.

Students recognized for receiving the Dr. Zack D. Owens and Martha Anderson Owens Nursing Endowment Scholarship were Morgan Barnes, Elif Kan, Chelsea Kuykendall, Jessica Richardson, Eva Ross, Alison Rowe, Christopher Smith, Haley Smith, Kaitlyn Smith and Cassie Toler.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The graduates were also presented with certificates of appreciation from Albemarle Regional Health Services recognizing their hours of volunteer service with the community COVID-19 vaccine clinics.

Pictured are, top row, from left: Autumn Caswell, Dare County; Abigail Senn, Pasquotank County; Natalee Twiford, Dare County; Alondra Culbertson, Pasquotank County; Ashley Wentz, Camden County; Christopher Smith, Gates County; Taylor Edwards, Camden County; Heather Burdick, Perquimans County; Kaitlyn Smith, Camden County; Cassie Toler, Dare County;

Second row, from left: Brittany Vance, Currituck County; Michael Shuman, Camden County; Jessica Richardson, Pasquotank County; Molly Gray, Dare County; Georgianna Smith, Camden County; Yulia Vozzhaeva, Currituck County; Savannah Pearsall, Currituck County; Haley Smith, Camden County; Shelby Tillery, Camden County; Gabrielle Bouchard, Dare County;

Third row, from left: Kathryn Lamas, Camden County; Morgan Barnes, Gates County; Eva Ross, Currituck County; Alexandra Kerlin, Dare County; Madisyn Boyce, Pasquotank County; Jordan Stamenkovski, Dare County; Alison Rowe, Currituck County; Konner Trueblood, Perquimans County; Jordyn Russell, Perquimans County; Shayla Nielsen, Pasquotank County; and

Bottom row, from left: Chelsea Kuykendall, Dare County; Jessica Bock, Camden County; Tasha Stamey, Currituck County; Shelby Todd, Camden County; Laura Brabble, Perquimans County; Elif Kan, Dare County; Patricia Howard, Chowan County.



Owen Clark named recipient of Great Valu scholarship

Student from Swan Quarter first at Pungo Christian Academy to earn high school diploma and associate’s degree