In Dare, face coverings required in all county, town and National Park Service buildings

Published 8:15 pm Saturday, August 14, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Since March 2020, local officials have met routinely to discuss updated COVID-19 information. According to a press release from the Dare County Emergency Management Joint Information Center, at the group’s most recent meeting on Wednesday, August 11, 2021, “discussion focused on the county’s high level of community transmission [of COVID-19], the elevated metrics and the impact this is having on the local community.”

The officials also discussed “the actions they are taking to protect employees and members of the public while they are at indoor locations as recommended by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services (NCDHHS),” stated the release. “Many had implemented policies that required the wearing of face coverings inside all buildings under their control. All of the senior leaders decided that consistent policies were needed across all jurisdictions.”

The release noted that county-specific data is not available regarding the Delta variant, however “initial findings indicate that 95% of regional cases that have been sampled contain the Delta variant. It is estimated that for every person infected with the Delta variant, it may spread to six other individuals. There is concern that the number of positive cases in our community will continue to increase.”

Get the latest headlines sent to you

According to the release, the week of August 2-8 saw the third-highest number of new cases since the COVID-19 pandemic began, with some businesses have closed temporarily in order for their staff members to be tested and to follow recommendations for cleaning and sanitizing to ensure safety. In addition, some clusters of the virus have been reported following gatherings of various sizes.

“While most of the towns had already established policies that required face coverings to be worn inside their facilities, effective immediately, the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Nags Head, Manteo and Dare County now require the use of face coverings while indoors at all county and town buildings,” stated the release.

“Additionally, visitors to Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site and the Wright Brothers National Memorial are required to wear a face covering inside all park buildings,” the release continued.

The face covering requirement for Town of Kill Devil Hills facilities will become effective Monday morning, August 16.

“Everyone is also strongly encouraged to get vaccinated and return to practicing the 3Ws (Wear a Mask, Wait Six Feet Apart and Wash Your Hands Often),” stated the release. “The 3Ws are proven methods to protect all of us and prevent the spread of this deadly virus.”

Information regarding COVID-19 in Dare County, including how to get vaccinated, can be found at Those with specific needs or questions may call the Dare County COVID-19 call center at 252-475-5008 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.



Census data shows population growth in some local counties, decline in others

Paradigm shift recommended to sustain future of tourism on the Outer Banks