Dare commissioners hear presentation, hold two public hearings

Published 3:02 pm Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

September is World Alzheimer’s Month. The international program established the theme for 2021: “Together we can ensure no one faces dementia alone.”

Dare’s Board of Commissioners adopted a resolution proclaiming the special month on Sept. 20, following a presentation by Gail Sonnesso with GEM Day Services.

Dare County residents 60 years and over living with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias are about 5 to 8 percent of the population. But that older population is expected to increase in the county.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

In her presentation, Sonnesso suggested that, for elder care, four programs need to be expanded or created: congregate meal sites on the beach and Hatteras similar to the Dare County Center; affordable group respite program in each Dare town; weekly memory cafes in each community; and a licensed adult day program.

For elder care, transportation issues need to be resolved.

Dare has an existing transportation program. “It’s incredible what you guys do,” said Dare County Board of Commissioners Chairman Robert L. Woodard.

Dare’s commissioners approved the Transportation Program’s annual request to the state for funding, which includes operation funds to provide transportation for seniors and individuals with disabilities. Additionally, the grant reimburses administration expenses. A capital grant will cover costs for two replacement wheelchair equipped vans and for annual service for all 10 revenue vans. The grant request to the State of North Carolina totals $409,895 with Dare County providing $104,620 for the local share.

A public hearing was required for the Transportation Grant Application. No one spoke.

A similar situation occurred for adding Package Distribution and Delivery Services as a permitted use to the C-3 commercial zoning district. The addition will permit United Parcel Service to expand its operations outside the Manteo Airport. The commissioners are required to conduct a public hearing about the change. Again, no one spoke.

On both matters, the commissioners acted unanimously, recording a 6-0 vote, as commissioner Jim Tobin was absent.

The commissioners made the following appointments:

Jury Commission: appointed Elizabeth Ann Creef Meekins to serve the remaining term of Lou Ellen Quinn through August 2023.

Health and Human Services Board: At the recommendation of the existing board, the commissioners appointed Dr. Ashley Clower to fill the expiring term of Dr. Christian Lige in the physician seat; Doug Tillett to fill the expiring term of David Ryan in the engineer seat; and Allan Moran to fill the expiring term of Kaye White in the at-large seat. The commissioners reappointed commissioner Ervin Bateman.

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council: reappointed Shannon T. Glaser and Jamie Koch.