Town of Nags Head names Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year for 2021

Published 11:14 am Sunday, December 12, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

At their December 1, 2021 meeting, Nags Head’s Board of Commissioners named Water Billing Specialist Brittany Phillips as the town’s 2021 Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year.

Presented by the Board each December, the award, named after Police Sergeant Earl Murray, who died in the line of duty on May 15, 2009, recognizes town employees who have excelled in performance, quality of work, willingness to cooperate with others, attitude towards the public and co-workers and attendance.

The award recipient, chosen from a list of nominations presented by town department heads, receives a plaque, a $400 reward and a paid day off. Nominees receive a $200 reward and a paid day off.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Phillips started her career with Nags Head in December 2015 as the town’s customer service representative/cashier. In February 2019, she was promoted to her current position as water billing specialist, where she is often the first Town of Nags Head employee a new homeowner meets when they apply for a new water account.

“Brittany personifies what it means to provide excellent customer service,” said Nags Head finance director Amy Miller. “She is driven by her own motivation and initiative and by professional growth in experiences and learning. Most important of all, she has a mutually respectful, valued, trusted, and engaged relationship with the public.”

“Our citizens are incredibly fortunate to have Town employees who understand what it takes to operate a strategic and high-performing organization,” said Nags Head Mayor Ben Cahoon. “Choosing just one from the group of five outstanding employees who were nominated was a difficult decision for the Board, as it is every year. But we believe Brittany represents one of the key hallmarks of our strategic plan: empowering the delivery of consistent and exemplary public service. She works to ensure that our organization is the best it can be.”

The other nominees for this year’s Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year award are:

  • Public Works: facilities maintenance technician Conner Twiddy
  • Fire and Rescue:  Fire Captain Matthew Swain
  • Planning and Development: senior building inspector Steve Szymanski
  • Police: Detective Paul “Trey” Lipscomb