Outer Banks Community Foundation honors Sheila Davies, elects new board members

Published 11:12 am Saturday, March 5, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Outer Banks Community Foundation held its annual meeting virtually via zoom on February 22. Three new board members were elected by Community Foundation membership and two departing board members were thanked and recognized. Sheila Davies, director of the Dare County Department of Health and Human Services and Public Health director, was named as the Community Foundation’s 2021 Champion for “her exemplary service and dedication to the Outer Banks in compassionately leading our community during a pandemic and beyond.”

“In my 20 plus years living on Outer Banks, I’ve been continually impressed by the loving and giving nature of the people here,” said Davies. “Time and time again, when needs arise, the Outer Banks Community Foundation, area nonprofits, businesses, government, and citizens step up and create solutions. Congratulations and thank you to the Outer Banks Community Foundation for 40 years of remarkable service and giving to our community.”

Betty Govan Selby, mayor pro tem for the Town of Manteo and Northeastern NC regional coordinator for Advance NC; Ray Meiggs of Southern Shores, former executive director of both the Arts of the Albemarle and the Whalehead Preservation Trust and Twiddy & Company real estate executive; and Claudia Neall of Nags Head, a senior foreign language interpreter with Dare County Department of Health & Human Services and former director of Mano al Hermano, were unanimously elected by Community Foundation membership to serve as at-large board members.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Two retiring board members were thanked for their outstanding service: Jane Webster of Kitty Hawk, who served as the Community Foundation’s vice chair in 2020 and 2021 and grants chair from 2019-21; and Nancy Caviness of Duck, who served as an at-large board member from 2017-21, including as Scholarship Committee co-chair from 2018-21.

In 2021, grants and disbursements went to the community through donor-advised funds ($190,656), organization and designated funds ($169,467), scholarships ($174,900) Community Enrichment and Focus grants ($207,896) and disaster grants ($146,300).

The meeting included a special video honoring Community Foundation founders and emeritus board members from 1982 to today and celebrating more than 200 funds established and $12 million in grants and scholarships awarded since the Community Foundation began. The seven-minute video, produced by Twiddy & Company, can be seen on the Community Foundation’s website and YouTube page.

Community Foundation President and CEO Chris Sawin acknowledged contributions of talent over the years, starting with founder David Stick and founding board members Andy Griffith, Edward Greene, Jack Adams, Martin Kellogg, Cashar Evans Jr. and Ray White, expressing gratitude to them for creating a charity whereby current and future generations can “put something back” for the betterment of all.

Community Foundation board Chair Clark Twiddy closed the meeting by saying, “We hope to inspire personal generosity; work on behalf of our donors and community on governance, sustainability, and good stewardship of assets; and to create meaningful impact through grants and scholarships, as well as through our full engagement in our communities.”